ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION

(AS 44.62.190(d))’

Adopting agency:__ Department of Health and Social Services, Division of Public
Assistance, Child Care Program Office

General subject of regulation:__Child Care Assistance Program
Citation of regulation (may be grouped):_7 AAC 41.010 -7 AAC 41.990
Department of Law file number, if any:_JU2016200208

Reason for the proposed action:

(X) Compliance with federal law or action (identify): Child Care and Development
Block Grant Act of November 2014

Compliance with new or changed state statute

()
( ) Compliance with federal or state court decision (identify):

(X) Development of program standards

() Other (identify):

Appropriation/Allocation:__ N/A

Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:
A private person:
Child Care Providers may be affected as follows based on the child care provider type:

e Approved Relative Child Care Providers:

@)

Pre-service (orientation) training costs. Currently, this is estimated to be $247.50
per person through Alaska's statewide Child Care Resource and Referral Network
(CCR&R). The Child Care Program Office is working with CCR&R to further
develop this training at the most reasonable cost.

Proposed regulation revisions to 7 AAC 41.205(c)(1), background check
requirements for any individual in the household, will be lowered from at least 18
years of age to at least 16 years of age. This cost is $20 per person.

Total potential cost for Approved Relative Child Care Providers: $247.50 for training and

$20 for household members at least 16 years of age (lowered from 18 years of age).

e Approved In-home Providers:

C

In-home caregivers will have pre-service (orientation) training costs. Currently,
this is estimated to be $247.50 per person through Alaska's statewide Child Care
Resource and Referral Network (CCR&R). The Child Care Program Office is
working with CCR&R to further develop this training at the most reasonable cost.
Proposed revisions to 7 AAC 41.370(b)(2)(D) requires that to be approved, the
family must submit verification that their in-home caregiver has received age
appropriate CPR and first aid certifications for the children in care. This will cost
on average $93.00 per person.




Total potential cost for Approved In-home Providers: $247.50 for training and $93.00 for
CPR and first aid certifications.

Another state agency:_ None
A municipality:_ None

Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of
dollars): None.
Initial Year ~ Subsequent

FY Years

Operating Cost $ $
Capital Cost $ $
1002 Federal receipts $ $
1003 General fund match $ $
1004 General fund $ $
1005 General fund/

program $ $
Other (identify) $ $

The name of the contact person for the regulation:

Name: Amanda Manning

Title:_Program Coordinator I

Address:_3601 C Street, Suite 140, Anchorage AK 99516
Telephone:_(907) 269-4516

E-mail address:_amanda.manning@alaska.gov

The origin of the proposed action:

_ X Staff of state agency

Federal government

General public

Petition for regulation change

2
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