13 AAC 85.060 (a) is amended to read:

(a) The council <u>may</u> [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION], waive part or all of the basic police training <u>academy</u> requirements if an applicant furnishes satisfactory evidence that the applicant has successfully completed

(1) an equivalent **<u>basic police</u>** training <u>academy</u> [PROGRAM];

(2) a <u>12</u> [TWELVE]-consecutive-<u>month</u> [MONTHS] <u>probationary</u>
[PROBATION] period with <u>the</u> [ONE] Alaska police department <u>the applicant is employed</u>
with at the time of the waiver request;

(3) <u>a council-certified, department supervised</u> [THE COUNCIL'S] field training program; and

(4) <u>a council-certified reciprocity police training academy that consists of</u> a minimum of 80 hours of classroom/<u>practical</u> training <u>to include a minimum of</u>:

(A) Alaska criminal code – 16 hours;

(B) Control tactics – 6 hours

(C) Domestic violence – 12 hours

(D) Blue Courage/ethics – 8 hours

(E) Firearms – 8 hours

(F) Use of force – 4 hours

(G) Alaska juvenile procedures – 4 hours

(H) Alaska laws of arrest - 2 hours

(I) Alaska traffic law – 4 hours, and

(J) Alaska laws related to DUI detection and enforcement - 8 hours

[IN SUBJECT AREAS CONSIDERED TO BE UNIQUE TO ALASKA, INCLUDING ALASKA'S CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM, JUVENILE PROCEDURES, COURT SYSTEM, CRIMINAL LAWS AND PROCEDURES, AND THE ENFORCEMENT OF ALASKA'S LAWS RELATED TO DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED AND USE OF THE INTOXIMETER, AS WELL AS A FIRST AID REFRESHER COURSE AND FIREARMS QUALIFICATIONS].

13 AAC 85.060 (b) is amended to read:

(b) The council <u>may</u> [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION], enter into reciprocity agreements with states that regulate or supervise the quality of police training and that require a minimum of <u>650</u> [400] hours of classroom/<u>practical</u> training for police officers.

13 AAC 85.060 (c) is amended to read:

(c) Notwithstanding (a) of this section, the council will not grant a waiver if the applicant was previously issued a certificate that lapsed more than <u>**five**</u> [10] years before the waiver was sought. Eff. 8/10/73, Register 47; am 8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am

Register _____, ____ 2015, Department of Public Safety

10/24/92, Register 124; am 8/5/95, Register 135; am 8/16/2000, Register 155; am 3/31/2005,

Register 173; am ____/___, Register _____

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240