Register \_\_\_\_\_\_, \_\_\_\_\_ 2015, Department of Public Safety

13 AAC 85.040 (b)(4) is amended to read:

- (b) To be eligible for the award of a basic certificate, an applicant must
  - (1) be a full-time paid police officer of a police department in Alaska;
  - (2) meet the standards of 13 AAC 85.010(a) and (b);
- (3) have worked 12 consecutive months on a probationary basis with the police department where the officer is employed at the time of application for certification;
- (4) have successfully completed <u>an Alaska Police Standards Council (APSC)</u>

  <u>approved basic police officer academy</u> [WITHIN THREE YEARS OF THE APPLICANT'S

  EMPLOYMENT AS A POLICE OFFICER THE BASIC POLICE TRAINING PROGRAM]

  meeting the standards of 13 AAC 85.050 or 13 AAC 85.060 <u>within 13 months of the</u>

  <u>applicant's date of hire as a police officer in Alaska.</u>
  - (5) attest and subscribe to the law enforcement Code of Ethics as follows:

As a law enforcement officer, my fundamental duty is to serve all people; to safeguard lives and property; to protect the innocent against deception, the weak against oppression or intimidation, and the peaceful against violence or disorder; and to respect the constitutional rights of all people to liberty, equality, and justice. I will keep my private life unsullied as an example to all; maintain courageous calm in the face of danger, scorn, or ridicule; develop self-restraint; and be constantly mindful of the welfare of others.

Honest in thought and deed in both my personal and official life, I will be exemplary in obeying the laws of the land and the regulations of my department. Whatever I see or hear of a confidential nature or that is confided to me in my official capacity will be kept ever secret unless revelation is necessary in the performance of my duty. I will never act officiously or permit personal feelings, prejudices, animosities,

Register	, 2015.	Department	of Public	Safety

or friendships to influence my decisions. With no compromise for crime and with relentless prosecution of criminals, I will enforce the law courteously and appropriately without fear or favor, malice or ill will, never employing unnecessary force or violence, and never accepting gratuities. I will recognize the badge of my office as a symbol of public faith, and I accept it as a public trust to be held so long as I am true to the ethics of the police service. I will constantly strive to achieve these objectives and ideals, dedicating myself (before God)\* to my chosen profession . . . law enforcement.

\*The phrase in parentheses may be omitted.

13 AAC 85.040 (c) is amended to read:

- (c) To be eligible for an intermediate certificate, an applicant must
  - (1) be a full-time paid police officer of a police department in Alaska;
  - (2) possess a basic certificate; and
- (3) have acquired the following minimum number of years of experience as a police officer, minimum training hours, and minimum education points [COMBINATION OF EXPERIENCE, TRAINING, AND EDUCATION POINTS]:

MINIMUM YEARS	3 years	4 years	5 years	6 years
EXPERIENCE				
EDUCATION	Bachelor degree	Associate degree	45 points	None
TRAINING	+ 80 Training hours	+120 Training hours	+160 Training hours	+200 Training hours

Register, 202	15, Departm	nent of P	ublic Sa	ıfety			
[							
Minimum years as a police	officer 2	4	4	5	6	7	8
Minimum training	APS	C basic	45	38	30	23	15
points	police t	raining	(900)	(750)	(600)	(460)	(300)
	prog	gram					
Minimum	BA or	AA or					
education	BS	AS					
points in college	degre	e degree	e 45	38	30	23	3 15
credits							

(4) The council may award an intermediate certificate to an applicant who meets the requirements of (c)(1) and (c)(2) of this section and has acquired seven or more years of experience as a police officer and a minimum of 20 training hours for each year of police officer experience. Training hours earned while attending a basic police training program will not count towards an intermediate certificate.

(5) After a basic certificate is awarded, an officer must achieve the prescribed training hours for the next level of certification, starting from zero. The officer may not count the same hours towards each subsequent level of certification.

13 AAC 85.040 (d) is amended to read:

Register,	2015,	Department of	Public Safety				
(d) To be	(d) To be eligible for an advanced certificate, an applicant must						
(1)	(1) be a full-time paid police officer of a police department in Alaska;						
(2)	possess a ba	sic <b>and interm</b>	nediate certificat	e; and			
(3)	have acquire	ed the following	g <b>minimum nu</b> n	nber of	years o	of expe	erience as a
police officer, mi	nimum trair	ning hours, an	d minimum edu	ıcation	points [	COM	BINATION
OF EXPERIENCE, TRAINING, AND EDUCATION POINTS]:							
MINIMUM YEARS	6 years	7 years	9 years	11yea	ırs	13 ye	ears
EXPERIENCE							
EDUCATION	Masters	Bachelor	Associate degree	45 points No		None	e
	degree	degree					
TRAINING	+ 80	+120 Training	+160 Training	+200 Training +240 Tra		Training hours	
	Training	hours	hours	hours			
	hours						
				•			
[							
Minimum years as a police officer 4 6 9 9 10 11 12							
Minimum training APSC basic police 45 40 35 30		30					
training program		(900)	(800)	(700)	(600)		

Minimum Masters BA or AA or education degree BS AS degree degree 45 40 35 30

Register \_\_\_\_\_\_, \_\_\_\_ 2015, Department of Public Safety credits ]

13 AAC 85.040 (e) is amended to read:

(e) The council may award an advanced certificate to an applicant who meets the requirements of (d)(1) and (d)(2) of this section and has <u>fourteen or more years of experience</u> as a police officer and a minimum of 20 training hours for each year of police officer experience. Training hours earned while attending a basic police training program will not count towards an advanced certificate. [12 COMBINED TRAINING AND EDUCATION POINTS AND 20 YEARS' EXPERIENCE AS A POLICE OFFICER, OR 30 COMBINED TRAINING AND EDUCATION POINTS AND 15 YEARS' EXPERIENCE AS A POLICE OFFICER]. After an intermediate certificate is awarded, an officer must achieve the prescribed training hours for advance certification starting from zero. The officer may not count the same hours towards each subsequent level of certification.

13 AAC 85.040 (f) is amended to read:

(f) College credits or degrees awarded by an institution of higher learning accredited by a regional or national accrediting agency recognized by the United States Secretary of Education [THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF POST-SCECONDARY EDUCATION] will be recognized by the council. College credits awarded for a basic police training program will not be recognized for education points toward an intermediate or advanced certificate. College credits awarded for advanced, supervisory, management, executive, or specialized law enforcement course will, in the council's discretion, be recognized for either training or education points. Education points will be awarded on the following basis:

Register	, 2015, Department of Public Safety				
	(1) one-quarter college credit equals two-thirds of an education point;				
	(2) one semester college credit equals one education point.				
13 AAC 85.	040 (g) is amended to read:				

(g) [TWENTY HOURS OF COUNCIL-CERTIFIED OR RECOGNIZED POLICE OFFICER TRAINING EQUALS ONE TRAINING POINT TOWARD AN INTERMEDIATE OR ADVANCED CERTIFICATE]. All training must be documented and the course must have been completed successfully by the applicant. Eff. 8/10/73, Register 47; am 9/17/76, Register 59; am 5/8/77, Register 62; am 8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 5/23/85, Register 94; am 3/16/89, Register 109; am 8/8/90, Register 115; am 9/6/96, Register 139; am \_\_\_/\_\_\_\_\_, Register \_\_\_\_\_

**Authority:** AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240