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P.O. Box 110806 

Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
Main: 907.465.2550 

Fax: 907.465.2974 
 
August 5, 2015 
 
Dear licensees and interested parties: 
 
Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and 
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of 
each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee 
statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not 
approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations…to implement the 
adjustments.”   

The Real Estate Commission reviewed the fee structure at its July 22, 2015 meeting and recommended the 
reduction to several fees.  The fees, as currently set, would not only get the program out of a deficit position, 
but if spending remained the same, it would realize a surplus at the end of the next biennial renewal cycle.  
The Commission felt the surplus was not necessary and that the licensees should realize a slight savings in 
fees.  The Division considered the Commission’s recommendation and supports the reduction in fees as 
proposed.  In the interest of standardization, the Division also recommends that the fee for licensure be the 
same whether it is the initial or renewal license.  The fee difference, if added to the application fee instead, 
would realize no cost change to the initial applicant.  A breakdown of the proposed fees is enclosed and 
located on the Commission’s web page at professionallicense.alaska.gov/RealEstateCommission. 

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The division encourages all licensees and interested 
parties to comment on this proposal through the division’s Regulations Specialist, whose contact information 
is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the division reviews all comments 
received, the division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the 
regulations in part or in its whole.    

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations.  
The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during this fall’s license renewal. 

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period.  Comments 
must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811 
or jun.maiquis@alaska.gov.  

Sincerely,  

Janey Hovenden 
Director 
 
Encl. 

mailto:jun.maiquis@alaska.gov
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 Chapter 02.  General Occupational Licensing Functions. 

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED 
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.) 
 
12 AAC 02.360(a) is amended to read: 

12 AAC 02.360. Real Estate Commission.  (a)  The following fees are established for 

real estate salespersons, associate brokers, and brokers:  

(1)  license fee, for all or part of the initial biennial license period, whether  

licensure is by examination or endorsement, $325 [$450]; 

(2)  biennial license renewal fee for both active and inactive licenses, $325  

[$400]; 

(3)  fee for office changes, including change of broker and company name, $75  

[$125] for each license; 

(4)  transfer of license fee, $225;  

(5)  application fee for initial license, $175 [$125]; 

(6)  initial office registration fee, $225 [$300];  

(7)  license inactivation or reactivation fee, $125;  

(8)  duplicate license fee, $50; 

(9)  name change fee, $75; 

(10)  post-license education certification and new license document fee, $30; 

(11)  reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, $250. 

(Eff. 3/6/91, Register 117; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 6/5/94, Register 130; am 11/10/95, 

Register 136; am 11/22/97, Register 144; am 12/28/97, Register 144; am 11/6/99, Register 152; 

am 10/28/2000, Register 156; am 10/20/2001, Register 160; am 12/2/2005, Register 176; am 
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1/1/2006, Register 176; am 1/1/2010, Register 192; am 5/28/2011, Register 198; am 9/17/2011, 

Register 199; am 1/8/2012, Register 201; am 11/30/2013, Register 208; am ___/___/____, 

Register ____) 

Authority: AS 08.01.065  AS 08.88.221 
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