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July 27, 2015 
 
 
 
Dear licensees and interested parties: 
 
 
Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and 
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of 
each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee 
statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not 
approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations…to implement the 
adjustments.”   

The Board of Public Accountancy reviewed the fee structure at its May 2015 meeting and supported an 
increase to the fees of twenty percent (20%).  The Division considered the Board’s recommendation and 
proposes a slightly greater increase in fee amounts in order to comply with the statute above, as well as to 
continue to deliver its current level of service for the public accountancy licensing program.  A breakdown of 
the proposed fees is enclosed and located on the Board’s web page at 
professionallicense.alaska.gov/boardofpublicaccountancy. 

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The division encourages all licensees and interested 
parties to comment on this proposal through the division’s Regulations Specialist, whose contact information 
is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the division reviews all comments 
received, the division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the 
regulations in part or in its whole.    

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations.  
The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during this fall’s license renewal. 

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period.  Comments 
must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811 
or jun.maiquis@alaska.gov.  

Sincerely,  

Janey Hovenden 
Director 
 
Encl. 

mailto:jun.maiquis@alaska.gov
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 Chapter 02.  General Occupational Licensing Functions. 

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED 
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.) 
 
12 AAC 02.340 is amended to read: 

12 AAC 02.340.  Board of Public Accountancy.  The following fees are established for 

accountants, partnerships, corporations, limited liability companies, and other legal entities:  

(1)  nonrefundable application fee for  

   (A)  initial license, permit, or practice privilege, $300 [$100];  

   (B)  repealed ___/___/____ [INITIAL EXAMINATION, $165];  

(2)  repealed 11/18/2006;  

(3)  certified public accountant license fee for all or part of the initial biennial  

license period, $390 [$290];  

(4)  certified public accountant biennial active license renewal fee, $390 [$290];  

(5)  certified public accountant biennial inactive license renewal fee, $245 [$185];  

(6)  uncertified public accountant biennial license renewal fee, under  

AS 08.04.661, $200 [$185];  

(7)  uncertified public accountant biennial inactive license renewal fee, under  

AS 08.04.661, $200;  

(8)  partnership, corporation, limited liability company, or other legal entity  

registration and permit fee for all or part of the initial biennial registration period, $530 [$310];  

(9) [(8)]  biennial partnership, corporation, limited liability company, or other  

legal entity permit renewal fee, $530 [$310];  

(10) [(9)]  out-of-state practice privilege permit fee for all or part of the initial  
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biennial registration period, $900 [$600];  

(11)  biennial out-of-state practice privilege permit renewal fee, $900 

[(10)  REEXAMINATION FEE:  

   (A)  ONE SECTION, $70;  

   (B)  TWO SECTIONS, $85;  

   (C)  THREE SECTIONS, $105;  

   (D)  FOUR SECTIONS, $120];  

(12) [(11)]  license reactivation fee, $150;  

(13) [(12)]  delayed renewal penalty fee, [.] $100.  (Eff. 11/20/86, Register 100; am  

10/1/88, Register 107; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 11/3/95, Register 136; am 11/14/99, 

Register 152; am 6/21/2001, Register 158; am 12/16/2001, Register 160; am 3/25/2004, Register 

169; am 11/18/2006, Register 180; am 1/1/2008, Register 184; am 11/30/2013, Register 208; am 

12/29/2013, Register 208; am ___/___/____, Register ____) 

Authority: AS 08.01.065  AS 08.04.495 
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