
 

 

 

  

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

     

   

      

 

    

   

   

   

  

    

   

       

   

 

     

 

                                                 
              

               

        

              

        

         

   

              

             

BEFORE THE ALASKA OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS ON 

REFERRAL BY THE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

In the Matter of ) 

) 

SLF INTERNATIONAL, DBA STEVE'S ) 

SPORTS BAR AND GRILL ) OAH No. 19-0205-ABC 

) Agency No. 1566 

DECISION 

I. Introduction 

Alaska law requires that a liquor license be operated at least 240 hours in a calendar year 

unless the licensee obtains a waiver of this operating requirement.1 SLF International, doing 

business as Steve's Sports Bar and Grill (“SLF”), had previously received three consecutive 

operating waivers for its beverage dispensary license – License #1566.2 SLF submitted a fourth 

application for waiver of the operational requirement in 2018 for License #1566 on November 

27, 2018. The Alcohol Beverage Control Board (“Board”) took the matter up at its meeting on 

February 19, 2019 and denied SLF’s application for a fourth waiver.  SLF has appealed this 

denial. 

Because SLF failed to establish that it was not at fault for failing to operate License 

#1566 in 2018, the application for a fourth waiver should be denied. 

II. Background 

A.  Framework for the Waiver Request at Issue 

Steve Fibranz is the president and sole owner of SLF (collectively, Mr. Fibranz and SLF 

are referred to as the “Licensee”).3 The Licensee operated Alaska Beverage Dispensary Liquor 

License #1566 for over 17 years.4 After his business on Fireweed Lane in Anchorage closed in 

2014, Mr. Fibranz held onto the license in a “no premises” status, hoping to find a new location 

or perhaps a buyer.5 Since the liquor licenses must be attached to a specific premises in order to 

be operated, a license cannot be operated in a “no premises” status.6 

1 Agency Record (AR), p. 100; see also AR, p. 22; AS 04.11.330(a)(3); 3 AAC 304.170(B). 
2 These waivers were for 2015, 2016, and 2017. See AR, p. 18. 
3 Respondent’s Brief, at p. 1; AR, p. 84. 
4 Respondent’s Brief, at p. 1. A beverage dispensary license allows the licensee “to sell or serve on the 

licensed premises alcoholic beverages for consumption on the licensed premises only.” See AS 04.11.090(a). 
5 Respondent’s Brief, at pp.4-5; see also AS 04.11.260(a)(2)(requiring a license to be located at a specific 

premises); AS 04.11.430(b). 
6 See Rollins v. State of Alaska, Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, 991 P. 2d 202, 209 & n. 21(Alaska 

1999)(liquor licenses must be attached to specific premises in accordance with AS 04.11.260(a)(2)). 



 

    

        

    

   

    

   

   

  

      

      

  

       

 

  

   

 

   

     

  

 

 

                                                 
            

              

         

                

               

     

     

      

              

  

        

        

                  

               

       

       

      

       

By statute, a liquor license must be operated for a certain amount of time every year.7 

However, if a liquor license is not being used, a licensee may request that the Board waive the 

operating requirement of AS 04.11.330(a)(3).8 Unless the licensee applies to the Board and 

requests a waiver of the yearly operating requirement, a liquor license will not be renewed if the 

applicant has not operated the licensed premise for at least 240 hours during each of the two 

preceding years.9 SFL applied for, and was granted, a first and second waiver of operation for 

2015 and 2016.10 

B.  SLF Seeks a Third Waiver 

On November 8, 2017, SLF submitted its third consecutive waiver application, signed by 

Steve Fibranz, on Form AB-29 to the Board.11 Mr. Fibranz had no idea of the requirements for a 

third waiver.12 The waiver application stated, in pertinent part, that: “The ABC Board may 

impose conditions along with the approval of an application for waiver, and it may deny a third 

or subsequent waiver.”13 The Licensee noted in the waiver application that the premises at 2306 

Spenard Road was “not [r]eady in 2017” and further stated “buying [p]remise in 2018 (to open 

April 2018).”14 This property was known as the Carousel Lounge.  According to Mr. Fibranz, 

the owner of the Carousel was remodeling and by November it was apparent that the premises 

would not be ready in time Mr. Fibranz to operate his license in 2017.15 

The Board exercised its discretion and approved the Licensee’s third waiver application 

at its public meeting held on January 23, 2018.16 The minutes for that meeting state: 

Ellen Ganley moves to approve the (third waiver) request with the caveat that a 

fourth waiver will not be granted. Bobby Evans seconds the motion.  Motion 

carries unanimously.17 

7 See AS 04.11.330(a). At the time SFL’s first three waivers were granted, a liquor license had to be 

operated for 30 eight-hour days in a calendar year. See AR, p. 100; see also 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/amco/ABCMeetingDocuments.aspx (January 23, 2018 meeting, Tab 70, 

p. 1). However, there was a change in 2018 converting the minimum yearly operating requirements from 30 days to 

240 hours. See AR, p. 100; see also AR, p. 22. 
8 3 AAC 304.170(b). 
9 AS 04.11.330(a)(3). 
10 Respondent’s Brief, at p. 5. 
11 See Exh. A. The third waiver application refers to SLF International Inc. and Steve Fibranz variously as 

the “licensee.” 
12 Testimony of Mr. Fibranz. 
13 See Exh. A; see also 3 AAC 304.170(e). 
14 See Exh. A, at p. 2. According to the chronology that Mr. Fibranz prepared, he had “to apply for a waiver 
since [the] deal fell through in November 2017.” See AR, p. 36; see also Testimony of Mr. Fibranz. 
15 See Testimony of Mr. Fibranz. 
16 AR, pp. 20-21; see also https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/amco/ABCMeetingDocuments.aspx 

(January 23, 2018 meeting). 
17 AR, pp. 20-21 (emphasis added). 
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The Board’s action – i.e., granting a third waiver with the proviso that there would be no fourth 

waiver – was consistent with its treatment of similar requests since approximately 2013.18 Mr. 

Fibranz thought the Alcohol & Marijuana Control Office (AMCO) just took his money for the 

waiver and granted it, so he did not attend the meeting.19 Since License #1566 was still in a “no 

premises” status, because Mr. Fibranz had not found a premises where he could place his license, 

the Board used its discretion to grant the third waiver.20 

The Board did not send, and was not asked by Mr. Fibranz to send, written confirmation 

or notice of the Board’s actions at its January 23, 2018 meeting. 21 The Board also did not 

provide Mr. Fibranz with written notice of its action on the third waiver (including the caveat). 

The Board finally provided verbal notice of the caveat on September 27, 2018.22 However, the 

Board’s minutes for its January 23, 2018 meeting, including the caveat related to the third waiver 

granted to SLF, were posted online on March 28, 2019.23 

Mr. Fibranz admitted that he “learned online of third waiver” in March of 2018 in the 

chronology he prepared concerning his efforts to place License #1566 into operation in 2018.24 

C. Licensee Seeks to Transfer License #1566 

1. The License Transfer Process 

A liquor license may not be transferred to a new location without the written consent of 

the Board.25 The Board’s license transfer process takes a minimum of 2-3 months.  Moreover, if 

the process involves both the Board and the MOA, as is the case here, transferring a beverage 

dispensary license takes between 4-6 months.26 Unfortunately, Mr. Fibranz was “completely 

18 Respondent’s Brief, at p. 5. According to Director McConnell, during her two-and-a-half-year tenure with 

AMCO, there has been a similar caveat accompanying third waivers which were granted. See Testimony of Ms. 

McConnell. 
19 Testimony of Mr. Fibranz; Respondent’s Brief, at p. 5. Mr. Fibranz testified that although he had held a 

liquor license for many years, he had never attended a meeting involving his license until he accompanied his 

attorney to the Board Meeting in February of 2019 when his fourth waiver application was on the agenda. See 

Testimony of Mr. Fibranz. Although it would have been prudent for Mr. Fibranz to attend the Board meeting when 

his third waiver application was on the agenda, the regulation covering waivers does not require such attendance. 

See 3 AAC 304.170; cf. Director’s Brief, at p. 6 (stating that Mr. Fibranz chose not to be at the meeting and 
describing it as his “willful decision to not attend the meeting”). 
20 The regulation pertaining to waivers states that “a third or subsequent consecutive application for waiver 

that does not identify a licensed premises location will, in the board’s discretion, be denied.” See 

3 AAC 304.170(e). 
21 Respondent’s Brief, at p. 5; see also AR, pp. 19, 68 & 114. 
22 Director’s Brief, at p. 3; Respondent’s Brief, at p. 2. 
23 See Director’s Brief, at p. 2 & Attachment A; see also Testimony of Ms. McConnell; 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/amco/ABCMeetingDocuments.aspx (January 23, 2018 meeting minutes). 
24 AR, p. 13; Testimony of Mr. Fibranz. 
25 AS 04.11.040(b). 
26 AR, p. 9. 
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unaware of these timelines.”27 Instead, he believed it would only take two months to transfer his 

license.28 

Between January and March of 2018, Mr. Fibranz kept “drifting around” looking for a 

spot suitable to operate his license.29 He was doing this search on his own and was not 

successful in identifying a new premises for his license for more than eight months (January 

through August).30 

2. SLF Attempts to Transfer Its License 

On August 13, 2018, Mikal Milton (Martin) – the record and licensing supervisor at 

AMCO – received a call from a real estate agent who said that Mr. Fibranz had asked her to help 

him find a “place to hang his license for 30 days.”31 Sometime in August, Mr. Fibranz identified 

TK Korean restaurant as a possible site for placing his liquor license for at least 30 days.32 On 

September 11, 2018, Chong Sanders (TK Korean restaurant) and Mr. Fibranz entered into a 

written agreement whereby the Licensee would pay $4,000 in rent for 30 days following the 

transfer of the liquor license. In addition, the Licensee agreed to pay for the utilities.33 This 

agreement was to commence when the liquor license transferred.34 

After signing this agreement, the Licensee prepared an application to transfer the location 

of his beverage dispensary license and began advertising this as an “Application for New Liquor 

License” on September 5, 2018.35 He completed this application on his own, without the 

assistance of AMCO staff or counsel.36 On September 24, 2019, SLF filed a Transfer License 

Application (Form AB-01) with AMCO.  Included with the Form AB-01 was the Public Notice 

Posting Affidavit (Form AB-02) signed by Mr. Fibranz; a copy of the public notice accompanied 

this form.37 

27 AR, p. 9. 
28 Testimony of Mr. Fibranz. 
29 Testimony of Mr. Fibranz. 
30 Testimony of Mr. Fibranz; AR, pp. 36-38. 
31 AR, p. 71. 
32 See AR, p 38. 
33 There are two fully executed copies of this agreement in the Agency Record:  one is dated and one is not. 

Compare AR, p. 58 (agreement dated September 11, 2018) with AR, p. 104 (undated agreement). 
34 See AR, pp. 58 &104. The undated version of the agreement states that it starts “when [the] liquor license 

transfers on approval of [the] ABC Board.” See AR, p. 104. The dated version states that it “will start when liquor 
license transfers in September/October of 2018.” See AR, p. 58. 
35 See AR, p. 87. 
36 AR, p. 49. 
37 AR, pp. 86-87. 
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On September 24, 2018, Mr. Fibranz received an e-mail from AMCO staff advising him 

that his liquor license transfer application was incomplete.38 Accompanying this e-mail was a 

letter from Carrie Craig – an occupational licensing examiner with AMCO – explaining why the 

Transfer License Application was being deemed incomplete. Ms. Craig’s letter listed numerous 

errors in that application and the supporting documentation.39 One such error rated to the content 

of the public notice posting, and SLF was informed that a new advertisement needed to be 

published once a week for three weeks with the language specified in Ms. Craig’s letter.40 SLF 

was also advised that AMCO would need to receive a transfer application from Ms. Sanders, 

d/b/a TK Korean restaurant, to “No Premises,” or a written notice from Ms. Sanders to expire her 

license when License #1566 was transferred.41 

Because he had failed to complete the initial Transfer License Application correctly and 

was required to re-advertise the application for three weeks, this delayed the Board’s 

consideration of the Transfer License Application.42 These circumstances “made it impossible 

for the License to secure the Board’s approval of the relocation at its October Board meeting.”43 

Mr. Fibranz came into the AMCO office on September 27, 2018.  At that time, that he 

was informed by AMCO staff about the Board action concerning his third waiver – i.e., that the 

third waiver had been granted with the caveat that there would be no fourth waiver.44 He also 

discussed his options – based on his possible inability to meet minimum operating requirements 

for 2018 – with Mikal Milton and Carrie Craig, AMCO staff members.45 One possibility 

discussed was a temporary license which could be granted at the Director’s discretion when the 

38 AR, p. 78. 
39 AR, pp. 79-81. 
40 AR, p. 80. The Transfer License Application includes a “Publisher’s Affidavit” which contains a copy of 

the public posting and the dates of publication. See AR, pp. 80 & 87, 
41 See AR, pp. 76-77. On September 25, 2018, Ms. Sanders executed a Notice to Expire license #5680 for TK 

Korean upon the transfer of License #1566. See AR, p. 244. This was consistent with the Board’s policy that a 

premises have only one liquor license. See AR, pp. 19 & 44-47. 
42 AR, p. 9 (Licensee’s failure “to properly complete the initial application correctly, being required to re-

advertise the location transfer application and not knowing of the Municipalities requirement for a Special Land Use 

permit made it impossible” for the Licensee to “secure the Board’s approval of the relocation at its October Board 
meeting). 
43 AR, p. 9; see https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/amco/ABCMeetingDocuments.aspx (listing October 

Board meeting as occurring on October 15, 2018). 
44 AR, p. 124. 
45 See AR, pp. 93-94. At that point, Mr. Fibranz had two options:  (1) apply for a waiver of operations upon 

payment of a non-refundable $10,000 fee, although the Board had previously indicated that a fourth waiver would 

not be granted; or (2) move forward with the transfer with the possibility of a temporary license being granted at the 

Director’s discretion after his application was deemed complete and he had received the necessary approvals. See 

id. 
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transfer application was complete and the necessary approvals were obtained. Mr. Fibranz opted 

to pursue that route.46 He re-advertised the transfer application and the affidavit of publication 

was re-filed on October 16, 2018, just after the Board’s October meeting.47 

3. MOA Requirements Further Delay the Transfer Application 

An additional problem plagued Mr. Fibranz’s attempt to transfer his liquor license to TK 

Korean restaurant.  At the time he entered into the rental agreement with Ms. Sanders, Mr. 

Fibranz was unaware that TK Korean restaurant had a land use permit which only permitted the 

sale of beer and wine on the premises.48 This meant that Mr. Fibranz would have to secure a 

Special Land Use permit for a beverage dispensary licensed operation from the Municipality of 

Anchorage (MOA) in order to serve alcoholic beverages on the premises.  This was in addition 

to obtaining the Board’s approval to transfer his license to the new premises.49 At some point, 

Mr. Fibranz became aware of this MOA requirement after he was contacted by the MOA’s 

Planning Commission.50 

In mid-October, MOA staff advised Mr. Fibranz that the MOA would be unable to 

review and approve a new Special Land Use permit for a Beverage Dispensary license at the 

proposed location until January of 2019.51 Upon learning this news, Mr. Fibranz realized that the 

liquor license could not be placed in timely manner before the end of 2018.52 Consequently, he 

advised Ms. Sanders that he could not proceed with their agreement concerning his rental of 

3826 Spenard Road (TK Korean restaurant).53 Because the Licensee no longer had any right, 

title or interest in 3826 Spenard Road, AMCO staff notified Mr. Fibranz that his transfer 

46 AR, p. 94. 
47 AR, p. 62. 
48 AR, p. 8. Mr. Fibranz testified that when he had visited TK Korean restaurant, he had noticed that the 

restaurant had a restaurant liquor license. However, a “restaurant” license allows a restaurant to sell beer and wine 

for consumption only on the premises and is different from Mr. Fibranz’s beverage dispensary license. Compare AS 

04.11.100(a)(restaurant license) with AS 04.11.090(a)(beverage dispensary license, which permits the sale of 

alcoholic beverages for consumption the licensed premises only). The record establishes that Mr. Fibranz was 

unaware of this critical distinction at the time he filed his application to transfer License #1566 to TK Korean 

Restaurant. See AR, at pp. 7, 9 & 28-29. 
49 AR, p. 8. The Special Land Use permits are issued by the MOA. See Anchorage Mun. Code 21.03.040. 
50 See Testimony of Mr. Fibranz (stating that he became aware of the MOA requirements after he was on the 

Board’s docket for October and was contacted by the MOA’s Planning Commission). 
51 AR, p. 9; see also AR, pp. 162-163. 
52 AR, p. 38. The MOA requires a special land use permit for the sale of alcohol which must be approved by 

the Assembly. See Anchorage Mun. Code 21.03.040 (C)(4)(a). Because TK Korean was a restaurant selling beer 

and wine for consumption on the premises, it had a special land use permit from the MOA which only required 

approval by the director. See Anchorage Mun. Code 21.03.040(C)(4)(b). Accordingly, Mr. Fibranz had to obtain a 

different special use permit from the MOA in order to transfer his license to the TK Korean restaurant premises. 
53 AR, pp. 9 & 27; see also AR, pp. 101 & 103. 
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application for license #1566 was incomplete and would not be considered by the Board at its 

December 18, 2018 meeting.54 

Out of other options, the Licensee hired counsel and requested a fourth waiver of the 

operating requirements on November 27, 2018.55 

D. Licensee’s Fourth Waiver Request 

Licensee’s fourth consecutive waiver request was an “extraordinary request,” in the 

words of Licensee’s counsel.56 If the Board denied the fourth waiver, the Licensee would lose 

an asset worth at least $225,000 because his license would eventually expire and it would be 

unable to be renewed.57 As his counsel noted, difficulties in finding a location, mistakes in the 

initial transfer process, and a lack of understanding of the MOA’s processes resulted in the 

Licensee being unable to operate in 2018.58 SLF’s counsel further opined in his memorandum to 

the Board dated November 27, 2018 that loss of License #1566 would be a very severe penalty 

for a combination of ignorance and mistakes.59 

On November 28, 2018, the Licensee entered into a letter of intent with the Woodshed, 

Inc. to lease its premises, which was submitted to the Board at its December 2018 meeting in 

connection with the Licensee’s fourth waiver application.60 Unlike TK Korean restaurant, the 

Woodshed was at a location with an approved land use permit from the MOA for the sale of 

alcoholic beverages.61 Licensee entered into an Option to Lease the Woodshed on January 29, 

2019 in order to: 

occupy the premises on a month to month basis for a term 

sufficient in 2019 to accomplish the minimum hourly requirements 

set forth in the regulations of the ABC Board.62 

// 

/ 

54 AR, p. 102; see also AS 04.11.430(stating that a specific location must be indicated on the license). 
55 AR, pp. 5 & 121. 
56 AR, p. 8. 
57 AR, pp. 10 & 25; see also 3 AAC 304.170(g). 
58 AR, p. 11. Mr. Fibranz did not find a new location (TK Korean restaurant) until August of 2018 and did 

not file his initial transfer application for License # 1566 until September 24, 2018. See AR, pp. 8, 13, 38 & 79-82. 

Because the Licensee had to re-advertise the transfer application for three more weeks due to errors in the initial 

public posting, the Board could not consider his application at its October 15, 2018 meeting because it was not yet 

complete. The advertising was not completed until October 14, 2018 and the affidavit of publication was not filed 

until October 16, 2018. See AR, pp. 8 & 80. 
59 AR, pp. 52 & 65. 
60 AR, p. 29. 
61 AR, p. 29. 
62 AR, p. 39. 
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In a memorandum dated December 17, 2018, AMCO’s Director, Erika McConnell, 

recommended to the Board that Licensee’s fourth waiver request be denied.  Ms. McConnell 

noted that the license had not been operated for four years and that the Board had granted the 

third waiver “with the caveat that a fourth waiver will not be granted.”63 

At the request of Licensee’s counsel, the Board did not take up the issue of Licensee’s 

fourth waiver application at its December 17, 2018 Board.64 Accordingly, consideration of 

Licensee’s fourth waiver application was deferred until the Board’s meeting in February of 

2019.65 

1. Licensee’s Counsel Raises A Due Process Claim 

On January 30, 2019, the Licensee’s counsel submitted additional information to the 

Board regarding the Licensee’s request for a fourth waiver of the operating requirements.66 In 

this submission, Licensee’s counsel argued that the Licensee had not received notice from 

AMCO staff about the Board’s granting of the third waiver with the caveat concerning the fourth 

waiver on January 23, 2018 until September 27, 2019.67 Licensee’s counsel maintained that by 

failing to provide notice at the time the third waiver was granted that there would be no further 

waivers and due to “other mistakes,” Licensee was not able to operate in 2018.  Licensee’s 

counsel also argued that the Licensee had made diligent efforts to find a new location, claiming 

that his failure to do so “was a result of circumstances beyond his control.”68 

2. AMCO’s Director Addresses the Due Process Claim 

AMCO’s Director prepared another Memorandum to the Board on February 19, 2019 and 

again recommended that Licensee’s fourth waiver application be denied.69 The Director noted 

that the “board has made no secret of its policy not to approve fourth waivers and has been 

consistent in applying this policy.”70 The Director’s memorandum further noted that it is the 

Board’s general intent that a license be in “no premises status” for only two years, and that the 

Board had used its discretion to approve the third waiver.71 

63 AR, p. 2. 
64 AR, pp. 17 & 19; see also AR, p. 203 (stating that this item was tabled at the applicant’s request). 
65 AR, p. 17. 
66 AR, p. 25. 
67 AR, p. 26. 
68 AR, pp. 26-27 (emphasis added). 
69 AR, p. 18-19. 
70 AR, p. 19. 
71 AR, p. 19. 
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The Memorandum also addressed the due process claim raised by Licensee’s counsel, 

asserting that AMCO staff had no obligation to notify the Licensee concerning the Board’s 

action on the third waiver application. AMCO’s Director explained that this was because the 

third waiver had been granted, and the only statutory or regulatory requirement for staff to notify 

a licensee of the Board’s action on an application is if the application is denied.72 AMCO’s 

Director further argued that it was the Licensee’s “responsibility to track the board’s action on 

their request, either by paying attention to the board meeting, contacting the office after the 

meeting for information, or reviewing the meeting minutes once they are available.”73 

3. The Board Denies Licensee’s Application for a 4th Waiver 

Licensee’s counsel and the Director each submitted a memorandum to the Board prior to 

the February 19-20, 2019 meeting articulating their respective positions on Licensee’s fourth 

waiver application.74 The Board met on February 19, 2019 to consider Licensee’s fourth waiver 

application. 

At that meeting, Licensee’s counsel admitted that he had never “seen a fourth waiver 

being approved.”75 The Board did not simply deny the fourth waiver on the basis of the caveat 

accompanying the third waiver because there was some discussion concerning the merits of 

Licensee’s fourth waiver application. 76 One Board member said he found the reasons for the 

fourth waiver “insufficient” and another Board member stated that he did not find “extenuating 

circumstances” so as to justify a fourth waiver.  The Board also expressed its reservations 

concerning fourth waivers generally.  One Board member characterized fourth waivers as “a very 

sensitive topic” and a “slippery slope,” and stated the “the board must have a line.”77 Another 

Board member observed that he did “not find a reason to go against the practice of not granting 

fourth waivers.”78 The Board denied Licensee’s request for a fourth waiver by a four to one 

79vote. 

72 AR, p. 19 (emphasis added). 
73 AR, p. 19. In addition, the Director’s memo argued that the Board would be encouraging non-operation of 

a license if it allowed an existing license at a premise to be temporarily surrendered while a different license was 

operated at the same premises. See id. 
74 Both of those submissions discussed the Licensee’s due process argument. See AR, pp. 19 & 26-27. 
75 Exh. B, p. 18. 
76 Despite the caveat to the third waiver, the Board did not categorically deny the fourth waiver. 
77 See Exh. B, at pp. 18-19 (minutes of February 19-20 Alcohol Beverage Control Board meeting). 
78 See Exh. B, at pp. 18-19 (minutes of February 19-20 Alcohol Beverage Control Board meeting). Although 

the issue of lack of notice was raised in submissions to the Board, only one Board member addressed that concern, 

stating that he felt “notice not being given is not a reason to not operate.” See Exh. B, p. 18, 
79 AR, pp. 247-248; see also Exh. B, p. 19. 
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Since the Licensee did not operate License #1566 in 2018 and did not receive a waiver 

of the operating requirements, License #1566 expires at the end of 2019 and cannot be 

renewed.80 Because there was a denial of his fourth waiver application and the concomitant 

expiration of License #1566 at the end of the biennial license period, Mr. Fibranz was provided 

with written notice of the Board’s action.81 

Under the Alaska Administrative Procedure Act (APA), the Licensee was entitled to 

request and receive a de novo hearing.82 On March 1, 2019, the Licensee filed this appeal of the 

Board’s decision to deny his fourth waiver. 

E.  Adjudicative Hearing 

Both the AMCO staff and the Licensee believed that there was one issue in this appeal: 

Was AMCO required to provide verbal or written notice directly to the respondent that his third 

waiver of the operating requirement would be his last, and if so, did the fact that no such notice 

was provided until September of 2018 work a denial of due process sufficient to warrant reversal 

of the board’s decision to deny the respondent’s application for a fourth waiver? 83 The parties 

agreed to waive a hearing before the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH), choosing instead 

to have the matter decided upon the Agency Record and briefing from each party.  However, due 

to certain gaps in the record, a hearing session was held on October 23, 2019 to clarify certain 

portions of the Agency Record.  Assistant Attorney General Joan Wilson represented the Board 

and Sherman Ernouff represented the Licensee.  Testimony was given by Steven Fibranz on 

SLF’s behalf. Mikal Milton Martin, who is a Records and Licensing Supervisor at AMCO, and 

Erika McConnell, the Director of AMCO, provided testimony on the Board’s behalf.  

80 Testimony of Ms. McConnell; see also 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/amco/OtherAlcoholResourses.aspx (list of expired licenses, listing License 

#1566 as expiring in 2019); AS 04.11.680; 3 AAC 304.170(g). But cf. AR, pp. 247-248 (incorrectly stating that 

License #1566 had expired because the board had not approved the fourth waiver). 
81 Director’s Brief, at p. 4. The notice that the Director provided to Mr. Fibranz stating his fourth waiver had 
been denied and his license had expired was in error. See AR, pp. 247-248. Rather, the notice should have advised 

the Licensee that License #1566 would expire at the end of its term (2019) and that any application for license 

renewal would be denied by the Board. See AAC 304.170(b). 
82 See AR, p. 248; see also AS 44.62.390; AS 44.62.390 & 44.62.450-.460. 
83 Director’s Brief, p. 1. As discussed elsewhere, counsel has failed to recognize that the notice provided 
when the fourth waiver was denied in February of 2019 and this de novo hearing affords Licensee due process. 

Because the Board discussed the fourth waiver application at its February 19, 2019 meeting and did not simply deny 

it based on the caveat to the fourth waiver, the issue that the parties have asked this tribunal to decide is not germane 

to this appeal. 
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1. The Director’s Position in the Appeal 

Counsel for the Director in briefing argued that the statute and the regulations put the 

Licensee on fair notice of what would happen if the Licensee did not meet the operating 

requirement in 2018.84 The Director’s counsel further argued that nothing in the statute, 

regulations, or the APA requires that notice of future actions on fourth waivers be delivered in 

any particular form.85 The Director’s Brief also noted that “the only customary notice of board 

decisions regarding future actions on waivers is public announcement at a properly noticed 

meeting, and that notice was given.” Accordingly, the Director’s Brief argued that Mr. Fibranz’s 

failure to attend the January 23, 2018 meeting “cannot be transformed into a viable due process 

claim.”  In addition, the Director’s Brief stated that Mr. Fibranz had actual notice of the Board’s 

policy on fourth waivers “shortly after the Board’s January 29, 2018 meeting” and that this 

would cure any defect regarding notice.86 In the view of Director McConnell, it is a licensee’s 

responsibility to track the license, which is very valuable.87 

2. Licensee’s Position in the Appeal 

Licensee through counsel has argued that Licensee’s right to due process was violated by 

the ABC Board’s failure to give prompt notice of their January 2018 action, which approved the 

third waiver of operation but contained a “no fourth waiver would be granted” proviso.88 

Licensee’s counsel further maintains that Mr. Fibranz only received notice of the Board’s 

statement that “no fourth waiver would be granted” in late September of 2018.89 According to 

Licensee’s counsel, this failure to give the Licensee timely notice of the Board’s proviso or 

caveat accompanying the granting of the third waiver “nearly assured that Respondent’s liquor 

license would expire” at the end of 2018.90 

84 Director’s Brief, p. 5. 
85 Director’s Brief, p. 6. 
86 Director’s Brief, pp. 6-7. However, notice of the Board’s actions at its January 23, 201 was not placed on 
the Board’s website until the minutes were placed online on March 28, 2018, about two months after that meeting. 

According to testimony from Ms. McConnell, this is the only way the Licensee could have learned online about 

what transpired at that Board meeting if he did not attend the meeting or did not contact AMCO staff. See 

Director’s Brief, at Attachment A; Testimony of Ms. McConnell. 
87 Testimony of Ms. McConnell. 
88 Respondent’s Brief, at p. 3. 
89 Respondent’s Brief, at p. 2. 
90 Respondent’s Brief, at p. 4; see also Respondent’s Brief, p. 3 (stating that because it took 3-6 months to 

transfer a liquor license, Respondent was “doomed to have his license expire because it was not possible to get a 

municipal land use permit, complete a liquor license transfer, and then operate the license for 30 eight hour days” 

when the Licensee did not get notice until late September); see also AR, p. 247. 
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Licensee’s counsel also asserts that the expiration of License #1566 is a forfeiture 

because the license is permanently taken from the Licensee.91 Contending that the failure to give 

notice of the Board’s action in January of 2018 has a very serious consequence for Licensee’s 

liquor license, the Licensee’s counsel argues that the remedy should be that Licensee is given “a 

full 12 months to place the license and operate it.”  Accordingly, Licensee through counsel has 

requested that the Board be directed to issue a fourth waiver.  

III. Discussion 

A.  Nature of a Formal Administrative Hearing 

This matter is before the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) on a de novo review of the 

Board’s decision to deny the fourth waiver.  A formal hearing before OAH resulting from the Board’s 

denial of an application is conducted under the Administrative Procedure Act (APA).92 

The first round of decision-making, which resulted in the February 19, 2019 denial of the 

Licensee’s fourth waiver application, was informal.  In many instances, the first decision on an 

application will be the last, because the applicant will not request a hearing.  When a de novo hearing is 

requested and granted, it is not simply a repeat of the first round.  Instead, evidence is taken under oath 

and a more complete body of evidence may be collected, allowing a more rigorous testing of factual 

matters that, allegedly, may have been present or understood inaccurately in the first round.93 

The purpose of offering a de novo hearing under the APA is to give the Board a full record on 

which to make a fresh and final exercise of any discretion it has under the law.94 The proposed decision 

from OAH at the end of the de novo hearing is a more rigorously tested version of the first decision.  It 

is a new decision made with a more complete body of evidence to enable the Board to make the best 

decision possible concerning this matter.95 The Board is then free to adopt the proposed decision, 

remand it, or revise it as its final decision. The final decision supplants the informal, initial decision by 

the Board. 

/// 

// 

/ 

91 Respondent’s Brief, at pp. 3-4. A forfeiture is defined as the divestiture of property without compensation. 

See Black’s Law Dictionary (9th ed. ) 
92 AS 04.11.510(b)(1). 
93 See In re Alaska Green Glaciers Garden, LLC, OAH No. 17-0444-MCB, at p. 4; In re Ronald Rockstad, 

OAH No. 08-0282-DEC, at p. 5; In re John W. Palmer, OAH No. 09-0133-INS, at p. 6. 
94 In re Jose Espinosa, OAH No. 16-0716-REC, at p. 1. 
95 In re Palmer, OAH No. 09-0133-INS, at p. 6; In re Ronald Rockstad, OAH No. 08-0282-DEC, at p. 5. 
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B.  Burden of Proof 

The Licensee bears the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence in this de novo 

hearing, because the Licensee is seeing a change to the status quo.96 At the time of the Board meeting in 

2019, License #1566 was subject to the operational requirement for 2018. The Licensee sought a 

change in the status quo by requesting a waiver from the operating requirement for 2018.  Under the 

Administrative Procedure Act, the burden of proof is on the Licensee pursuant to AS 44.62.460(e)(2) 

because the Licensee’s request for a waiver was an initial denied.97 

C. The Waiver Process 

1. The Operating Requirement for Liquor Licenses 

As noted above, there is a statutory requirement in AS 04.330(a) that liquor license be 

operated for a certain amount of time every year.98 The purpose of the statutory operational 

requirement is to prevent a licensee from holding onto one of a limited number of licenses 

without operating it within a reasonable time necessary to construct or otherwise establish 

premises.99 An application requesting renewal of a license shall be denied if: 

the applicant has not operated the licensed premises for at least 

240 hours during each of the two proceeding calendar years, unless 

the Board determines that the licensed premises are under 

construction or cannot be operated through no fault of the 

applicant.100 

The statutory scheme for liquor license also requires that a Licensee identify a premises in order 

to operate the liquor license.101 

96 State, Alcoholic Beverage Control Board v. Decker, 700 P.2d 483, 485 (Alaska 1985); see also In re 

Elisabeth Rollins, d/b/a Alaska 1910, OAH No. 10-0262-ABC (ABC Board), at p. 6. 
97 AS 44.62.460(e)(2) states that the “respondent has the burden of proof . . . if a right, authority, license has 

initially been denied or not issued.” 
98 See AS 04.11.330(a). 
99 Director’s Brief, p. 1 n. 1 (the operational requirement serves two purposes:  to insure alcohol licenses are 

put to use and to prevent hoarding licenses without operating them to increase demand and value on the secondary 

market); see also Rollins, 991 P. 2d 202, 209 & n. 21(Alaska 1999). 
100 AS 04.11.330(a)(3) (emphasis added); see also 3 AAC 304.170(a)-(b). Although the statute and the 

regulation both use the term “licensed premises,” this has been interpreted to include liquor licenses in “no 
premises” status for which a waiver of the operating requirement is being sought. See Rollins, 991 P. 2d at 208-209 

(rejecting the argument that the operating requirement only applies to “licensed premises”). 
101 Cf. Rollins, 991 P. 2d at 208-209 & n. 21(Alaska 1999)(liquor licenses must be attached to specific 

premises in accordance with AS 04.11.260(a)(2) but opining that the operating requirement also encompasses 

premises for which a license may be issued). 
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2. A Licensee May Request a Waiver of the Operating Requirement 

Under 3 AAC 304.170, a licensee may request that the Board waive the operating 

requirement in AS 04.11.330(a)(3) by applying in writing for a waiver. In determining whether 

such a waiver should be granted, the Board will determine whether, “through no fault of the 

licensee or because the premises were under construction,” the licensed premises could not be 

operated for the required time during the preceding calendar year.102 An application for a waiver 

for a calendar year must be accompanied by a non-refundable application fee of “double the 

amount of the fee paid for the previous year’s waiver application.”103 

The statutory and regulatory scheme makes it more difficult for a licensee to obtain a third 

waiver.  This is consistent with the legislature’s objective to ensure that a liquor license is used to 

conduct business, rather than be purely a financial asset, because there are a limited number of licenses 

in a community.104 The Board has the discretion to deny a third or subsequent consecutive application 

for waiver unless the licensee clearly shows that the licensed premises were not operated because they 

were condemned or substantially destroyed.105 Moreover, if the premises identified on an applicant’s 

license are not owned or leased by the licensee, the Board may, in its discretion, deny a third or 

subsequent waiver application.106 Additionally, a third or subsequent consecutive application for waiver 

that does not identify a licensed premises will, in the board’s discretion, be denied.107 As the Alaska 

Supreme Court noted in Rollins v. State, “it is clear that a waiver of operation is a privilege, and that the 

applicant must affirmatively prove the lack of fault.”108 

If an application for a waiver is denied, an application for license renewal for the succeeding 

license period will be denied by the Board.109 Here, this means that because the Licensee’s fourth 

waiver application (for calendar year 2018) was denied, the Licensee will be unable to renew 

// 

/ 

102 3 AAC 304.170(b); cf. Rollins, 991 P. 2d 208-209 (the operating requirement also encompasses a premises 

for which a license may be issued, otherwise a licensee could hold a license indefinitely yet not operate it). 
103 3 AAC 304.179(c). The fee for the first waiver is half of the applicable biennial license fee. Each 

successive waiver is double the amount of the fee for the previous year’s waiver, so that the fees for a third or fourth 
waiver application are significantly higher than the fees for a first or second waiver. See 3 AAC 304.179(c). The 

non-refundable application fee for Licensee’s fourth waiver was $10,000. See AR, p. 6. 
104 See Rollins, 991 P. 2d at 209. 
105 3 AAC 304.170(e). 
106 3 AAC 304.170(e). 
107 3 AAC 304.170(e). 
108 Rollins v. State, 312 P. 3d 1091, 1095 (Alaska 2013), reh’g den. (2014). 
109 3 AAC 304.170(g). 
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License #1566 when it expires at the end of 2019.110 

3. A Liquor License Requires that the Licensee Be Given Due Process 

The Alaska Supreme Court has deemed a liquor license to be a property right, not merely a 

privilege subject to withdrawal or denial at the whim of the state, noting that it is of considerable 

value.111 Procedural due process is defined as the minimal requirements of notice and a hearing 

guaranteed by the due process clauses of the 5th and 14th amendments of the United States Constitution, 

especially if the deprivation of a significant life, liberty or property interest may occur. 112 In addition, 

Alaska’s constitution also contains a due process clause.113 Due process requires that any action 

involving the deprivation of a property right must be preceded by notice and that there must be a hearing 

appropriate to the nature of the case. 114 

Under AS.04.11.510, if a liquor license is denied, the notice of denial shall be furnished to the 

applicant immediately in writing stating the reason for the denial in clear and concise language.  

However, this statutory provision only addresses an application for the issuance, renewal, transfer of 

location or transfer to another person of the license.115 Consequently, it is the minimal requirements of 

due process, not a statute or regulation, which mandate the notice a Licensee should receive with regard 

to the Board’s decision to deny a waiver application.116 

Here, the Board did not deny Licensee’s fourth waiver application at the January 23, 2018 

meeting because no such application had been filed.  After the fourth waiver application was filed, the 

Board considered that application but denied it on February 19, 2019.  Licensee was provided notice of 

110 See 3 AAC 304.170(g). The Director erroneously advised Mr. Fibranz that License #1566 had expired 

when the Board failed to grant the 2018 waiver because she was under the mistaken belief that the license had 

expired upon denial of the waiver. See AR, at pp. 247-248. As the Director admitted upon questioning at the 

hearing and further review of the statute, this was not accurate. License #1566 is a biennial license that will expire 

until the end of 2019. Thus, although the Licensee cannot not operate the License, the license has not yet expired. 

See Testimony of Ms. McConnell; see also AR, p. 174. 
111 See Rollins, 991 P. 2d, at 211; Stevens v. State of Alaska, Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, 257 P. 3d 

1154, 1169 (Alaska 2011); but cf. AS 04.11.660(a)(a liquor license is a personal privilege, not a property right).” 
112 Black’s Law Dictionary (7th ed. 1999); see also Nozzi v. Housing Authority of City of Los Angeles, 806 F. 

3d 1178, 1192 (stating that once a substantive right has been created, it is the due process clause which provides the 

procedural minimums). 
113 Alaska Const. art. I, § 7 (“No person shall be deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of 
law.”). 
114 Patrick v. Municipality of Anchorage, 305 P. 3D 292. 299 (Alaska 2013). Due process does not require any 

specific type of hearing. See id. 
115 AS 04.11.510. See Testimony of Ms. McConnell (although the statutes and regulations do not address 

providing notice for denied waiver applications, these are treated like other denied applications and notice is 

provided). 
116 Cf. Rollins, 312 P. 3d at 1093 (waiver applicant advised in a letter from that the Board would grant a fifth 

consecutive waiver “with the express warning that it is a final waiver of the operating requirement and no future 

waivers will be granted for this license”). 
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this denial in an e-mail and by a letter dated February 25, 2019.  Licensee has now appealed that denial 

and is receiving a de novo hearing on the merits of the case.  Consequently, the minimum requirements 

of due process have been met.117 

D. The Board Should Exercise Its Discretion In Denying the Fourth Waiver 

The Board has aptly characterized fourth waivers as a “slippery slope.”  A caveat along 

the lines of the caveat to the third waiver is problematic if it automatically results in the 

subsequent denial of a fourth waiver.  This is because the regulation contemplates that third and 

subsequent waivers may be granted in the Board’s discretion and a binding declaration that a 

fourth wavier will be denied prevents the Board from exercising that discretion. Consequently, 

the Board’s statement that a future waiver “would not be granted” as a caveat to Licensee’s third 

waiver if used as a basis for the present decision, arguably eliminates the Board’s discretion to 

grant a fourth waiver and conflicts with the discretionary language of 3 AAC 3014.170(e).  

Similarly, a Board “policy” which is not a regulation but creates an absolute bar to fourth 

waivers would also violate 3 AAC 304.170(e), which makes third and subsequent waivers 

discretionary with the Board. While the Board can caution Licensee’s that a fourth waiver is 

unlikely to be granted unless special circumstances are present, it should not suggest that a fourth 

waiver will not be successful regardless of the circumstances.  Instead, the Board should consider 

each waiver application by determining whether the application meets the criteria for granting 

waivers in 3 AAC 304.170.  

1. The Board’s Authority to Deny a Waiver Application 

In determining whether to grant a waiver from the operating requirements, the Board 

considers the factors listed in 3 AAC 304.170: (1) whether the failure to operate was “through 

no fault of the licensee;” (2) whether the premises being under construction or are condemned or 

substantially destroyed; and (3) whether the premises listed on the waiver application are not 

leased or owned by the licensee or do not identify a licensed premises location.118 The Board 

also has the discretion to deny a third or subsequent waiver unless “the licensee clearly shows 

117 Counsel for both parties were off the mark by focusing this appeal on the caveat accompanying the third 

waiver rather than on the actual denial of the fourth waiver at the February 19, 2019 Board meeting when assessing 

whether Licensee was afforded due process. The Board discussed at some length whether to grant the fourth waiver 

application at its February meeting in 2019. It did not simply slavishly follow the dictates of the caveat or decline to 

hear or grant the application. Upon the denial of the fourth waiver, the written notice of the denial and the de novo 

review process afforded by the APA provides Licensee with due process. 
118 3 AAC 304.170(b) & (e). 
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that the licensed premises were not operated because they were condemned or substantially 

destroyed.119 

Here, the only issue to be considered is whether Licensee’s failure to operate in 2018 was 

due to “no fault of the licensee” since the other criteria are not present.  The Board should deny 

Licensee’s application for a waiver unless it decides that the license was not operated in 2018 

through no fault of the Licensee.120 

a. Licensee Was Aware by March of 2018 That He Was Unlikely to Get 

Another Operating Waiver 

Licensee’s counsel has argued that Licensee was unaware that he would not get a fourth 

waiver until September 27, 2018.  According to Licensee’s counsel, this meant that Licensee had 

just over three months (late September through December) to accomplish a license transfer that 

normally takes four to six months.121 Licensee’s counsel speculates that had the Board given 

Licensee prompt notice that a fourth waiver application would be unsuccessful, Licensee would 

have taken steps to ensure that License #1566 was in operation in 2018. This argument fails for 

two reasons.  First, because the Board will exercise its discretion in this decision and will not 

apply the caveat as though it were a denial-in-advance, the caveat was nothing more than a 

gratuitous warning and lack of notice has no legal consequences.  Mr. Fibranz should have 

known from simply reading the regulations that fourth waivers are far from guaranteed and that 

he needed to be diligent in using the reprieve given to him through the granting of the third 

waiver.  Second, Licensee’s claim of lack of notice advanced by his counsel is largely wrong, as 

explained below. 

In his chronology, Mr. Fibranz stated he “learned online of [the] third waiver” in March 

of 2018.122 It is undisputed that these minutes were posted online on March 28, 2018.123 

However, Mr. Fibranz testified that he did not recall looking at the minutes for the January 23, 

119 Since the license was in “no premises” status, there were no premises which were condemned or 

substantially destroyed, so the Board has the discretion to deny the fourth waiver application on these grounds. See 

3 AAC 304.170(e). The regulation also states that the Board has the discretion to deny a third or subsequent license 

if the premises identified are not leased or owned by the licensee or the waiver does not identify a licensed premises 

location. See id. However, because Licensee had an option to lease the Woodshed at the time when the Board 

considered his fourth these other two reasons for the Board to exercise its discretion to deny the fourth waiver were 

not applicable. See AR, pp. 39-40. 
120 See 3 AAC 304.170(b) 
121 Respondent’s Brief, at p. 3. 
122 AR, p. 13. 
123 Director’s Brief, at Attachment A. 

OAH No. 19-0205-ABC 17 Decision 



 

    

  

 

 

    

  

   

 

  

    

   

 

 

   

  

   

    

  

 

   

                                                 
      

              

            

          

     

         

        

      

     

          

           

2018 meeting, which mentioned the caveat.124 Instead, he testified thought he had found out 

about the third waiver by looking at the list of alcohol licenses on the AMCO website.  

Mr. Fibranz’s testimony regarding what he learned online about his waiver application in 

March of 2018 was flatly contradicted by Director McConnell, who testified that the online list 

of alcohol licenses does not contain any reference to waivers or actions taken on waivers.125 She 

further testified that the only ways in which a licensee could find out about the Board’s action on 

a waiver application was:  (1) if the licensee attended the Board meeting; (2) the licensee 

received written or verbal notice from the Board that a decision had been made on the 

application; or (3) the licensee reviewed the minutes of the Board meeting.126 It is undisputed 

that: (1) Mr. Fibranz did not attend the January 23, 2019 Board meeting;127 (2) the Board did not 

provide him with written notice concerning the outcome of his third waiver application and its 

caveat;128 and (3) AMCO staff did not tell him about the caveat accompanying the third waiver 

until September 27, 2019.129 Thus, the only place online in which Mr. Fibranz could have 

learned about the outcome of his third waiver application in March of 2018 would be in the 

minutes for the January 23, 2018 meeting, which explicitly mentioned the caveat.130 

Mr. Fibranz, however, claims that he was unaware of the caveat accompanying the third 

waiver until his meeting with AMCO staff on September 27, 2019.131 Licensee’s counsel has, 

therefore, argued that Mr. Fibranz had only three months from the date AMCO staff advised him 

of the caveat to the third waiver on September 27, 2018 to complete the transfer application 

process. 132 Since this process normally takes four to six months, Licensee’s counsel maintains 

that his client was prejudiced by the belated notice he received from AMCO staff -- i.e., it was 

not Licensee’s fault that he was unable to operate in 2018. 

However, Mr. Fibranz’s recollection about when he discovered that his third waiver 

application containing a caveat regarding a fourth waiver is not credible and is contradicted by 

his actions.  His counsel stated that “after learning of the Board’s comment about no further 

124 Testimony of Mr. Fibranz 
125 During the hearing, the list of expired and unexpired licenses was reviewed online with Ms. McConnell and 

this review corroborated Ms. McConnell’s testimony that no information about waiver applications is contained on 
those lists. See Transcript of Hearing (Testimony of Ms. McConnell). 
126 Testimony of Ms. McConnell. 
127 Testimony of Mr. Fibranz; Director’s Brief, at p. 2. 
128 Director’s Brief, at p. 2. 
129 Testimony of Ms. Martin. 
130 Testimony of Ms. McConnell. 
131 Testimony of Mr. Fibranz; see also AR, p. 124. 
132 Exh. B, at p. 18; see also Respondent’s Brief, at p. 9. 
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waivers at its January meeting, the Licensee doubled his efforts to find a new location.”133 

Indeed, Mr. Fibranz’s chronology of his efforts to place his license confirms that, beginning in 

March of 2018, Mr. Fibranz began searching aggressively for a new location to place his license 

during calendar year 2018.  This would be consistent with Mr. Fibranz learning about the caveat 

accompanying the third waiver sometime in March of 2018.134 In fact, Mr. Fibranz quadrupled 

his efforts to find a new location from March through August of 2018 and considered 20 

different sites as a potential new location for his license.135 Notably, he only found one potential 

new location – the Woodshed -- after September 27, 2018, so his counsel’s statement about the 

Licensee “doubling his efforts” can only refer to Mr. Fibranz’s efforts from March through 

September “after learning of the Board’s comment about no further waivers at its January 

meeting.”136 

At the hearing, Mr. Fibranz testified that he wanted to earn more money by operating his 

license and cited that as the reason for his increased efforts to place his license in March of 2018.  

However, there are other references in the record that Mr. Fibranz simply wanted to place his 

license someplace for 30 days simply to fulfill the operating requirement for a license he had not 

used for several years.137 This evidence casts further doubt on Licensee’s explanation for his 

sudden effort to find a new premises.   

Consequently, it is reasonable to infer that Mr. Fibranz reviewed the minutes of the 

January 23, 2018 Board meeting, which included the statement that a fourth waiver would be 

denied, in March of 2018 even if he did not recall doing so at the time of the hearing a year and a 

half later.138 Accordingly, this decision concludes that Mr. Fibranz had actual notice of the 

caveat regarding a fourth waiver upon reviewing online the minutes of the January 23, 2019 

133 AR, p. 7 (emphasis added) 
134 The list shows that the licensee identified three potential locations in March and four potential locations in 

April, May, June, and August, and two potential locations in July. See AR, pp. 13 & 133; see also AR, pp. 36-38. 
135 AR, p. 133. By contrast, he only considered five sites during 2017. Compare AR, p. 36 (Mr. Fibranz’s 
efforts to relocate his license in 2017) with AR, pp. 13, 37-38 & 133 (Mr. Fibranz’s efforts to relocate his license in 
2018). In a memo to the Board, Mr. Fibranz’s attorneys claim that there were over 25 different locations which the 

licensee “attempted to secure so as to operate the license in 2018.” See AR, p. 27. However, five of the locations 

involved sites considered between March and June of 2017. There were no additional sites considered between 

June of 2017 and March of 2018. See AR, pp. 36-27. 
136 AR, p. 7. 
137 AR, p. 71 (memorandum of a call from a realtor to AMCO staff on August 13, 2018 indicating that Mr. 

Fibranz had called the realtor to ask for a “place to hang his license for 30 days”); AR, p. 38 (noting that in August 

of 2018, Mr. Fibranz talked to the owner of Center Bowl about temporarily placing the liquor license there and 

talked to TK Korean restaurant about placing liquor license there for 30 day minimum); AR, p. 39 (Woodshed lease 

option was for a term which would allow Licensee to satisfy the minimum operating requirements); AR, p. 58 (lease 

agreement with TK Korean can be terminated after 30 days). 
138 See Testimony of Mr. Fibranz. 
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meeting shortly after they were posted online on March 28, 2019.139 This meant that the 

Licensee lost approximately two months of time in finding a new premises for his license 

because AMCO did not provide him with written notice concerning the Board’s views on fourth 

waivers.  He had 9 months (April through December), rather than 11 months (February through 

December), to find a new premises and operate his license for 240 hours in 2018.  The transfer 

process normally takes four to six months.140 

b. Licensee Did Not Establish Absence of Fault 

In the words of the Licensee’s counsel: 

The situation in which the Licensee finds himself is, in part, one of 

his own making based on a lack of understanding of the time it 

currently takes to secure a location and to transfer the location of a 

license. . . . . Couple that with the difficulties in finding a location 

and with [Licensee’s] mistakes in the initial transfer application 

process and a lack of understanding of the processes of the 

Municipality resulted in the Licensee being unable to operate in 

2018.141 

In his filings with the ABC Board, Licensee’s counsel observed:  

[T]he Licensee now finds himself where he is forced to plead for a 

conditional 4th waiver resulting mainly from his lack of 

understanding of the regulatory circumstances that exist in 

Anchorage, Alaska in 2018.142 

The record also establishes that Licensee’s lack of knowledge about the license transfer process, 

which resulted in his being unable to operate in 2018 was largely self-inflicted.  For example, the 

ABC Board’s website contains cautionary language in a blue box, prominently placed at the top 

of the page in the section relating to new and transfer licenses: 

Applying for a . . . transfer liquor license is a long process, 

involving approval by from the ABC Board, Local Government 

and other state agencies. Applicants should plan for a 3 to 6 month 

application process.143 

139 See AR, p. 13; Director’s Brief, at Attachment A. 
140 AR, p. 9. As his counsel noted, Mr. Fibranz made certain assumptions about the processes and procedures 

of the MOA which he should not have made, making it impossible for him to meet the minimum number of 

operating hours in 2018. See AR, p. 29. 
141 AR, p. 52. 
142 AR, p. 10 (emphasis added). 
143 Respondent’s Brief, at p.3 n. 2; see also 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/amco/AlcoholLicenseApplication (stating that applying to transfer a liquor 

license “is a long process, involving approval from the ABC Board, Local Government and other state agencies”). 
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c.  Licensee Did Not Take Reasonable Steps to Operate 

Numerous references in the record demonstrate that Mr. Fibranz’s conduct was a 

substantial contributing factor regarding his inability to operate his license in 2018: 

• He didn’t pursue the purchase of 302 G Street in April of 2018 because he felt the 

property was overpriced and the owners wouldn’t “budge on the price;”144 

• He didn’t pursue 4216 Spenard Road in June since he was “looking to rent;”145 

• He called and texted regarding 550 West 64th Street but did not send a letter (certified or 

otherwise) regarding his interest in the property when he had no response. 146 

• He attempted to call and text the owner of 64th and Arctic three times in July and stopped 

by the property three time but never sent a letter (certified or otherwise) to the owner 

when he was unable to reach him by these other means;147 

• He didn’t hire a realtor to assist him in locating a suitable property, choosing instead to 

“drift around” looking for a potential location;148 

• He was unaware that he would need approval from the MOA to operate a beverage 

dispensary license at TK Korean restaurant premises and thus was unable to proceed with 

that transfer;149 

• He did not file a license transfer application until late September, so that he had only 

three months to accomplish a process which normally takes 4-6 months as per the notice 

on the AMCO’s website regarding new or transfer licenses;150 

• He did not consult with AMCO staff prior to filing his license transfer application and, as 

a result, the application he filed had multiple errors and he had to advertise the 

application again for three more weeks due to errors in his original advertising;151 

144 AR, p. 36. 
145 AR, p. 37. However, in his 2017 application for a 3rd waiver, the Licensee hadn’t ruled out the possibility 

of buying the premises where he hoped to locate his license. See Exhibit A; Testimony of Mr. Fibranz. 
146 AR, p. 37. 
147 AR, p. 37. 
148 Testimony of Mr. Fibranz 
149 AR, p. 9. 
150 See https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/amco/AlcoholLicense Application. 
151 AR, p. 3. Because of he had to redo publication of the public notice to transfer the license, Mr. Fibranz was 

unable to be on the Board’s agenda for its October meeting in 2018. 
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• He did not hire counsel to assist him in what was a complicated process until November 

of 2018;152 and 

• He assumed that the license transfer to TK Korean restaurant would only take a month.153 

By November 28, 2018, Mr. Fibranz had identified the Woodshed as a place where he 

could operate License #1566.154 Even if he had he started on the transfer application process for 

this particular premises two months earlier – i.e., on September 28, 2018, representing the two 

months between the Board’s decision in January of 2018 and the date when he had actual notice 

of the caveat -- Mr. Fibranz still would have been unable to operate at that location in 2018.  This 

is because he had to do three weeks of advertising before filing his transfer application with the 

Board.  Assuming that this application was free from errors, Mr. Fibranz still would miss getting 

his transfer application on the Board’s October 15, 2018 agenda and instead would have been on 

the December 17-18, 2018 agenda.155 Had the Board approved the Licensee’s transfer 

application for the Woodshed in mid-December of 2018, the Licensee  would not have enough 

time to operate for 240 hours during 2018 and still would have needed to request a fourth waiver.  

In other words, it was Licensee’s conduct which doomed his efforts to operate in 2018.  

Mr. Fibranz’s efforts to place the license in operation in 2018 are best characterized as 

ineffective due to his misunderstanding of the license transfer process and were simply too 

late.156 As he admitted at the hearing, in hindsight he should have hired experienced counsel at 

the outset to assist him with the process.157 

IV. Conclusion 

The Licensee did not establish that non-operation of License #1566 in 2018 occurred through no 

fault of his own. Therefore, Licensee’s application for a fourth waiver should be denied. 

Dated:  November 19, 2019 

Signed 

Kathleen A. Frederick 

Administrative Law Judge 

152 At the hearing, Mr. Fibranz explained that he had previously handled all his matters involving his liquor 

license on his own. However, when asked what he might do differently in hindsight, he quickly responded that he 

should have hired counsel sooner. See Testimony of Mr. Fibranz. 
153 AR, p. 58. 
154 See AR, p. 57 (Letter of Intent to lease the Woodshed, dated November 28, 2018). 
155 See infra, at p. 5 (Mr. Fibranz was advised on September 25, 2018 that he needed to re-advertise his 

transfer application for TK Korean restaurant for three weeks and, as a result, could not be placed on the Board’s 
October 15, 2018 agenda). 
156 Cf. In re Elizabeth Rollins, OAH No. 10-0262-ABC (ABC Board 2011) (finding that Ms. Rollins’ efforts 
were too little and too late). 
157 Testimony of Mr. Fibranz; see also AR, p. 10 (indicating that counsel would have been aware of the 

lengthy time frames and delays that can occur during the licensing process). 
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Adoption 

The ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD adopts this decision as final under the 

authority of AS 44.64.060(e)(1). Judicial review of this decision may be obtained by filing an 

appeal in the Alaska Superior Court in accordance with AS 44.62.560 and Alaska R. App. P. 

602(a)(2) within 30 days after the date of distribution of this decision. 

DATED this 22nd day of January, 2020. 

By: Signed 

Signature 

Robert Klein 

Name 

Board Chair 

Title 

[This document has been modified to conform to the technical standards for publication. Names may have been 

changed to protect privacy.] 
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