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DECISION 

I. Introduction 

Connor Stefano applied for a license as a massage therapist on June 29, 2018.  The 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (Division) sent him notice on 

January 8, 2019 that his application was denied.  Mr. Stefano requested a hearing to challenge 

that denial. 

The undisputed evidence in this case shows that Mr. Stefano has extensive education and 

training in massage therapy.  However, he did not complete his course of study at an approved 

massage school as required by the statutes that govern massage therapists.  Consequently, he 

does not meet the statutory requirements for licensure as a massage therapist in the State of 

Alaska.  The denial of his application is upheld.  

II. Facts1 

 Mr. Stefano was enrolled in the massage therapy program at the Alaska Institute of 

Oriental Medicine, Acupuncture & Massage Therapy (Institute) from May 12, 2014 through 

August 25, 2015.  The Institute is an approved massage school.  The massage therapy program at 

the Institute was an 800-hour program, consisting of 11 courses.  Mr. Stefano did not complete 

the program.  Instead, he withdrew from the program early on August 25, 2015, after completing 

552.5 hours of the 800-hour program.  He completed and passed four courses:  Anatomy and 

Kinesiology, Physiology, Chair Massage, and Table Massage.  He partially completed five 

courses, receiving an incomplete grade in them:  Ethics of Touch, Business Practices, Pathology 

& Special Populations, Meridian & Acupressure Theory, and the Student Clinic.  He did not take 

the Oriental Medicine for Bodyworkers or the Acupressure Massage Lab courses.2  Mr. Stefano 

provided 19 “Client Critiques” from his student clinic, all of which were positive.3 

 
1  The following facts were established by a preponderance of the evidence. 
2  Agency Record (AR) 65. 
3  Stefano Ex, pp. 2 – 20.  



OAH No. 19-0059-MAS 2 Decision 

 Mr. Stefano completed a 60-hour course in Traditional Thai Yoga Massage in Thailand in 

2016.4  He took the Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) on June 25, 2018 

and passed.5  

 Mr. Stefano completed an application for Alaska licensure as a massage therapist on June 

27, 2018.  The Division received the application on June 29, 2018.6  He completed two 

American Heart Association classes, basic life support and CPR, and a course in bloodborne 

pathogens in July and August 2018.7 

 Division staff emailed Mr. Stefano inquiring about his massage school transcripts that 

showed he had not completed the massage therapy program.  Mr.  Stefano emailed back 

indicating that he did not finish the program because one of the program instructors offered him 

“Taoist sexual healing classes outside of school for 250$ per session.”8  Mr. Stefano’s testimony 

was consistent with his email.  In addition, he testified about his ethical concerns with the 

Institute’s management and faculty, and his dissatisfaction with the curriculum.  He also testified 

that the instructor who offered to teach him the Taoist sexual healing techniques began to show 

up at his other classes, for which she was not an instructor.  Mr. Stefano withdrew from the 

Institute’s massage program due to his concerns over the curriculum, the ethical issues and the 

discomfort he experienced from being followed by the one instructor.  Mr. Stefano did not file a 

complaint with the Institute because he did not know who to contact due to the small size of the 

faculty/management.9   

 Mr. Stefano’s application was presented to the Alaska State Board of Massage Therapists 

(Board) on December 28, 2018.  The Board denied his application.10  The Division sent Mr. 

Stefano notice on January 8, 2019 that the Board denied his application, and that the reason for 

denial was that he did not complete his massage program: 

After careful consideration, the Alaska Board of Massage Therapists denied the 
application for licensure using authority AS 08.61.030(3)(A) “the board shall 
issue a license to practice massage therapy to a person who furnished evidence 
satisfactory to the board that the person has completed a course of study of at 
least 500 hours of in class supervised instruction and clinical work from an 

 
4  AR 86. 
5  AR 20. 
6  AR 12 – 17. 
7  AR 69 – 70, 89. 
8  AR 83 – 84. 
9  Mr. Stefano’s testimony. 
10  AR 2 – 8. 
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approved massage school”.  Upon examination of your transcript, it was found 
that while you took several courses, you did not complete the program.11  
Mr. Stefano requested a hearing to challenge the denial of his application.  Mr. Stefano’s 

hearing was held on April 24, 2019.  Mr. Stefano represented himself and testified on his own 

behalf.  Assistant Attorney General Robert Auth represented the Division.  Dawn Dulebohn, a 

licensing examiner employed by the Division, testified on its behalf. 

III. Discussion 

 A person who wishes to practice as a massage therapist in the State of Alaska must first 

be licensed by the Board.12  An applicant who does not currently hold a massage therapy license 

from another state or country, is eligible for licensure “by examination.”  At the time of Mr. 

Stefano’s application, an applicant by examination had to show, in addition to meeting other 

requirements, that he or she satisfied the minimum educational requirements set out in AS 

08.61.030: 

Sec. 08.61.030. Qualifications for license.  The board shall issue a license to 
practice massage therapy to a person who 
 

*   *    *    * 
(3) furnishes evidence satisfactory to the board that the person has completed 
a 
 

(A)  A course of study of at least 500 hours of in-class supervised 
instruction and clinical work from an approved massage school;13  

 
As an applicant for license to practice massage therapy, Mr. Stefano therefore bears the burden 

of proof to show by a preponderance of the evidence that he has completed a “course of study of 

at least 500 hours of in-class supervised instruction and clinical work from an approved massage 

school.”14  

It is undisputed that Mr. Stefano did not complete the entire program at the Institute, but 

instead withdrew after completing 552.5 hours of the 800-hour program.  The relevant issue is 

 
11  AR 9 (emphasis in original). 
12  AS 08.61.070(a). 
13  There are alternative ways to qualify for licensure, such as through participation in a board-approved 
apprenticeship program pursuant to AS 08.61.030(3)(B), or through licensure by credentials pursuant to AS 
08.61.040.  However, these alternatives do not apply in Mr. Stefano’s case.   
14  Effective July 1, 2019, the statutory hours requirement increases to 625 hours.  § 3, ch. 10, SLA 2018.  It is 
possible that the board’s final decision in this case will not be made until after that date.  Whether the lower or 
higher hours requirement applies to an application that straddles the effective date of the new statute—that is, and 
application made before the effective date but not finally ruled upon until afterward—is a complex question.  It need 
not be decided here because it would not change the outcome of the case. 
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therefore whether Mr. Stefano’s completion of 552.5 hours of the Institute’s 800-hour program 

and his completion of the 60-hour Thai Massage course is sufficient to qualify him for licensure.  

While he has certainly completed more than 500 hours of in-class supervised instruction and 

clinical work from the Institute, which is an approved massage school, does that constitute the 

completion of “a course of study”?  Neither the applicable statutes nor their accompanying 

regulations15 define the phrase “course of study.”  It is therefore necessary to determine what 

“course of study” means.  This is an issue of statutory interpretation.  

The statute as written is susceptible to two possible constructions.  One is that as long as 

an applicant has completed classes of at least five hundred hours from an approved massage 

school, then he or she is eligible for licensure.  The other is that “course of study” refers to the 

curriculum or entire program of study.  In other words, the statutory requirement is that an 

applicant must have completed an approved massage school’s curriculum or program that has at 

least 500 hours of classes and clinical work.      

Questions of statutory interpretation begin with an examination of the statutory language 

construed in light of its purpose.16  The objective “is to give effect to the intent of the legislature, 

with due regard for the meaning that the statutory language conveys to others.”17  Though 

unambiguous statutory language is to be given its ordinary and common meaning, the Alaska 

Supreme Court has rejected the “plain meaning” rule as an exclusionary rule and permits looking 

to legislative history as a guide to construing a statute’s words.18  The legislation, AS 08.61.010 

et. seq, which created the Alaska Board of Massage Therapists and which established the 

standards for licensure was passed in 2014.  The underlying legislative history does not provide a 

context from which to derive a definition of “course of study.”19  

 

 
15  See 12 AAC 79. 
16  Ganz v. Alaska Airlines, Inc., 963 P.2d 1015, 1017 (Alaska 1998). 
17  Id. (citing City of Dillingham v. CH2M Hill Northwest, Inc., 873 P.2d 1271, 1276 (Alaska 1994)). 
18  Id. 
19  Neither the sponsor statement nor the various committee hearing minutes contain any information which 
provides any guidance on this issue.  The sponsor statement is located online at 
http://www.akleg.gov/basis/get_documents.asp?session=28&docid=24484. The minutes of the various committee 
meetings are located online at: March 10, 2014 House Labor &Commerce Committee - 
http://www.akleg.gov/basis/Meeting/Detail?Meeting=HL%26C 2014-03-10 15:15:00; March 28 House Labor & 
Commerce Committee - http://www.akleg.gov/basis/Meeting/Detail?Meeting=HL%26C 2014-03-10 15:15:00; the 
March 31, 2014 House Labor & Commerce Committee - 
http://www.akleg.gov/basis/Meeting/Detail?Meeting=HL%26C 2014-03-31 16:31:00;  the April 3, 2014 House 
Finance Committee - http://www.akleg.gov/basis/Meeting/Detail?Meeting=HFIN 2014-04-03 08:30:00),; and the 
April 17, 2014 Senate Finance Committee - http://www.akleg.gov/basis/Meeting/Detail?Meeting=SFIN 2014-04-17 
13:30:00.  These online records were all accessed on May 16, 2019.  

http://www.akleg.gov/basis/get_documents.asp?session=28&docid=24484
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In these circumstances the Board, as the entity entrusted by the Legislature to implement 

this statute, has some liberty to adopt an interpretation of the statutory language that it feels 

makes the most sense in regulating this profession in keeping with the legislative purpose.  This 

would often be done by regulation,20 but it can also be done by means of an adjudication such as 

this one.21 

The facts in this case provide a clear context from which to answer this statutory 

interpretation issue.  Mr. Stefano has more than 500 hours of coursework from the Institute, 

which is an approved massage school.  Under one possible interpretation of the statute, he would 

be eligible for licensure.  But his transcript shows that he did only completed four of the eleven 

classes.  He started and only partially completed five classes:  Ethics of Touch, Business 

Practices, Pathology & Special Populations, Meridian & Acupressure Theory, and the Student 

Clinic.  He did not take two entire courses.  Under the first interpretation of the statute, a student 

could pick and choose which classes to take, and decide to not complete individual classes, and 

still be eligible for licensure.  A student could fail or not take an important component of the 

entire coursework and still be eligible for licensure.  He or she could also aggregate class hours 

from different approved massage schools that added up to a total of 500 hours.  The balance of 

disciplines that an accredited school will include in a whole curriculum would be lost. 

This is a problematic interpretation of the statute, at least in the absence of other law that 

would define what mix of courses would comprise a “course of study” if the one prescribed by 

the approved school is not completed.  Instead, the statute’s requirement for completion of a 

“course of study” is best interpreted as requiring that an applicant must complete an entire 

curriculum presented by an approved massage school, which must consist of at least 500 hours.  

Mr. Stefano undeniably does not meet this standard.  His 60-hour Thai Massage class cannot not 

help him meet this standard, because it was not part of a “course of study” of at least 500 hours.    

 Because Mr. Stefano did not complete his course of study at the Institute, the next 

question to answer is whether the particular facts of his case justify an exception from the 

statutory requirements.  The statute reads, in pertinent part, that the applicant “has completed a 

… course of study of at least 500 hours of in-class supervised instruction and clinical work from 

 
20  An example of a regulatory definition of a statutory phrase is 2 AAC 64.020.  In the present context, the 
Board could have adopted a regulation that prescribed what mix of courses would comprise a “course of study.” 
21  Cf. SEC v. Chenery Corp., 332 U.S. 194,202-03 (1947). 
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an approved massage school.”22   There is no ambiguity in that language: an applicant must have 

“completed” the course of study.  There is nothing in the legislative history to suggest 

otherwise.23  As such, the statute does not afford any discretion to consider extenuating 

circumstances.  Mr. Stefano is not eligible for licensure. 

IV. Conclusion 

Mr. Stefano was enrolled at the Institute’s massage therapy program, where he did not 

complete the program.  Although he voiced several reasons for not completing the program, once 

the Board concludes that a qualifying “course of study” has not been completed, it does not have 

discretion to consider individualized reasons and to diverge from the education requirements.  As 

a result, Mr. Stefano’s application for licensure as a massage therapist is DENIED.   

 
Dated:  May 20, 2019 

 
       Signed     
       Lawrence A. Pederson 
       Administrative Law Judge 
 

Adoption 

The ALASKA BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPISTS adopts this decision as final under the 
authority of AS 44.64.060(e)(1).  Judicial review of this decision may be obtained by filing an 
appeal in the Alaska Superior Court in accordance with AS 44.62.560 and Alaska R. App. P. 
602(a)(2) within 30 days after the date of distribution of this decision. 
 

DATED this 19th day of September, 2019. 
 
 
     By:  Signed     
      Signature 
      David Edwards-Smith    
      Name 
      Chair of Board of Massage Therapists  
      Title 
 

[This document has been modified to conform to the technical standards for publication.  Names may have been 
changed to protect privacy.] 

 
 

 
22  There are alternative ways to qualify for licensure, such as through participation in a board-approved 
apprenticeship program pursuant to AS 08.61.030(3)(B), or through licensure by credentials pursuant to AS 
08.61.040.  However, these alternatives do not apply in Mr. Stefano’s case.   
23  See fn. 19 above for the legislative history reviewed in preparing this decision.  
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