
   
 

BEFORE THE ALASKA OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS ON REFERRAL 
FROM THE COMMISSIONER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, 

COMMUNITY AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT  
 
IN THE MATTER OF  ) 
   ) 

KIM P. DANIELOWSKI  ) OAH No. 07-0076-TOB 
 DBA Riverside Grocery and Deli  ) Agency Case No. 0501-07-031 

  )  
  

DECISION AND ORDER 
 

 I. INTRODUCTION 

 Ms. Danielowski admits she violated AS 43.70.075(a) when she sold tobacco products 

for 11 days with out the required business license endorsement.   She challenges the division’s 

imposition of penalty for her violation. 

 A hearing was held on May 14, 2007.  The division was represented by Assistant 

Attorney General Cynthia Drinkwater.  Ms. Danielowski participated by telephone and appeared 

pro se.  The parties agree that the only issue remaining is the appropriate penalty, if any, to be 

imposed for Ms. Danielowski’s violation.   

 

 II. FACTS 

 Ms. Danielowski owns a grocery store in Sutton, Alaska that sells, among other items, 

tobacco products.   Daily tobacco sales total, on average, $35.00. Total daily sales range from 

$700.00 to $1,200.00.  Ms. Danielowski has had a business license endorsement to sell tobacco 

products since June 17, 2004.  In October 2006 the division sent Ms. Danielowski a notice that 

her endorsement would expire at midnight December 31, 2006 and must be renewed.1  She 

attempted to renew online but was unable to complete the transaction.  Ms. Danielowski testified 

that she filled out the form and wrote the check in December; however, for tax purposes she 

made her check payable to the State of Alaska on dated January 3, 2007.2  She explained that the 

check was dated January 3, 2007 because the first and second of January were holidays.   The 

division received her completed renewal on January 11, 2007.3  The tobacco endorsement was 

                                                           
1 Exhibit 2 p. 7. 
2 Exhibit 4. 
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issued January 12, 2007.  Ms. Danielowski admits that she had tobacco sales everyday from the 

first of January through the twelfth of January. 

 The division presented the testimony of its investigator Donald Faulkenburry.  He 

explained that the division typically resolves tobacco endorsement cases by entering into a 

memorandum of agreement (MOA) with the violator.  When entering into an MOA and 

determining an acceptable penalty the division considers the duration of the violation, who took 

the first action to correct the problem, and whether it is a repeat offender.  For a first time 

offender such as Ms. Danielowski, Mr. Faulkenburry testified that the division would have 

agreed to either 1) a 45 day suspension of her endorsement and a stay of 80% of the fine or 2) 

100% of the fine and a stay of the endorsement.   

 

   III. DISCUSSION 

 If a person offers tobacco products for sale without a valid endorsement issued on their 

business license, the division may impose a civil penalty up to $250.00 for each day of the 

violation (not to exceed $5,000.00) and suspend the endorsement for a period not to exceed 45 

days.4  Ms. Danielowski argues that she was only two days late in applying for her tobacco 

endorsement; she had completed the application, wrote the check and placed everything in the 

mail on the first business day of the New Year.  She had taken all necessary steps to correct the 

violation before it was discovered.    

 Although Ms. Danielowski’s tobacco sales are small they are important to her business.  

Ms. Danielowski argues that the maximum penalty allowed by statute, $2,750.00 and a 45 day 

suspension of tobacco sales is excessive and would impose an extreme hardship on her business.  

As a practical matter, she believes she completed all steps necessary for an endorsement by 

January 3, 2007.  She understands the importance of an endorsement and believes under the 

circumstances no penalty should be imposed. 

 A tobacco endorsement is not valid until it is issued.5  Ms. Danielowski’s endorsement 

was issued January 12, 2007.  She offered tobacco products to the public without an endorsement 

for 11 days.  While Ms. Danielowski’s total tobacco sales may not exceed $35.00 per day, it is 

conceivable that when in the store, these customers purchase impulse items which contribute to 

her total revenues of $700.00 to $1,200.00 per day. The maximum penalty permitted under these 
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facts is $2,750.00, an amount that equates to almost three days of total revenue to Ms. 

Danielowski.  The maximum fine could be extremely burdensome to a small business such as 

Ms. Danielowski’s.   

 However, Ms. Danielowski’s violation is the direct result of a conscious business 

decision intended to provide favorable consequences.  When Ms. Danielowski decided to wait 

until after the New Year to renew her tobacco endorsement she knew she would be offering 

tobacco products without a valid endorsement in violation of the law.  If Ms. Danieloski had 

desired to be in compliance with AS 43.70.075 she could have placed a sign on the counter that 

said she was temporarily not selling tobacco products.  She did not. Ms. Danielowski made a 

business decision to intentionally violate AS 43.70.075(a) and a penalty is warranted. 

 Weighing Ms. Danielowski’s conscious decision to briefly violate the law against the fact 

that she corrected the matter before it was discovered and that there was no significant disruption 

to the department’s ability to enforce the tobacco laws, it appears fair that a fine be assessed, but 

that most of it be suspended so long as Ms. Danielowski complies with all tobacco licensing 

requirements for a year.  A suspension of Ms. Danielowski’s right to sell tobacco for a period 

equal to the number of days she was unlicensed also would reflect a fair balancing of these 

considerations. 

 
 IV. CONCLUSION 

 The proper penalty in this case is a $2,750 fine, with $250 to be paid and $2,500 

suspended for one year on the condition that the licensee properly maintain a business license 

tobacco endorsement, and a suspension of the right to sell tobacco for a period of 11 days.  

 
 V.  ORDER 

 Upon adoption of this Decision as a final administrative decision in this matter, Kim P. 

Danielowski dba Riverside Grocery and Deli shall pay a fine of $250, with an additional $2,500 

suspended for one year on the condition that Kim P. Danielowski dba Riverside Grocery and 

Deli maintain a proper business license tobacco endorsement.  Kim P. Danielowski dba 

Riverside Grocery and Deli shall be prohibited from selling tobacco from the premises of the 
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5 AS 43.70.075(a) (“Unless a person has a business license endorsement issued…”) (emphasis added). 
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Riverside Grocery and Deli for a period of 11 days, commencing at a time to be determined by 

the division. 

 
DATED this 12th day of June, 2007. 

 
 

      By:  Signed     
Rebecca Pauli 

       Administrative Law Judge 
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Non-Adoption Options 
 

1.  The undersigned, on behalf of the Commissioner of Commerce, Community and 
Economic Development and in accordance with AS 43.70.075 and AS 44.64.060, declines to 
adopt this Decision and Order, and instead orders under AS 44.64.060(e)(2) that the case be 
returned to the administrative law judge to  

 
  take additional evidence about ________________________________________; 
 
  make additional findings about ________________________________________; 
 
  conduct the following specific proceedings: ______________________________. 
 
DATED this ______ day of ___________, 2006. 
 
     By:  _______________________________ 
      Signature 
      _______________________________ 
      Name 
      _______________________________ 
      Title 
 
 

 
2.  The undersigned, on behalf of the Commissioner of Commerce, Community and 

Economic Development and in accordance with AS 43.70.075 and AS 44.64.060 (e)(3), revises 
the enforcement action, determination of best interest, order, award, remedy, sanction, penalty, 
or other disposition of the case as follows:  

 
In this matter, the Administrative Law Judge [hereinafter cited as “ALJ”] 

recommended the payment of a $2,750 fine, with $250 to be paid and $2,500 suspended for 
one year on the condition that the licensee properly maintain a business license tobacco 
endorsement, and a suspension of the right to sell tobacco for a period of 11 days. 

 
The recommendation was based on a finding that Ms. Danielowski sent a check the 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing [hereinafter cited as 
“DCBPL”] dated January 3, 2007, that her license expired on December 31, 2006, and that 
Ms. Danielowski was issued a license with a tobacco endorsement on January 12, 2007. 

 
The recommendation made by the ALJ was that Ms. Danielowski had made 

unlicensed tobacco sales for 11 days.  However, this was premised on a conclusion that 
DCBPL in issuing a license as of the date of processing of the renewal on January 12, 2007 
was following a regulation.  However, a filing by the Department of Law specifies that 
there is no applicable regulation regarding when a business license should issue; in actual 
fact, the license was issued on January 12 due to an internal policy of DCBPL.  Nor does 
the Department of Law filing indicate whether this division policy is in written form or is 
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an unwritten custom within DCBPL.  Nor is there any indication that such a policy would 
be readily apparent to a licensee, such as Ms. Danielowski. 

 
The sanction proposed by ALJ is based on unauthorized sales of 11 days, and that 

conclusion is not supported unequivocally.  It is reasonable that the date of the check could 
be reviewed by a member of the public as the time when a business license issues, just as a 
tax return is filed on the date it is postmarked.  Moreover, it is agreed that Ms. 
Danielowski: (1) has previously and subsequently been in compliance with all licensing 
requirements; (2) that she attempted to obtain a license in a timely fashion over the 
Internet, but failed; and (3) that there were no known violations by Ms. Danielowski of any 
other applicable statutes or regulations during any period applicable to this matter. 

 
Therefore, the undersigned, on behalf of the Commissioner of Commerce, 

Community and Economic Development revises the enforcement action, determination of 
best interest, order, award, remedy, sanction, penalty or other disposition of this case by 
suspending all fines as well as any period of a prohibition of the sale of tobacco from the 
premises of the Riverside Grocery and Deli for a period running from the date of this Non-
Adoption Order until and including December 31, 2007 and requires Ms. Danielowski as a 
condition of suspension to maintain a current business license and tobacco endorsement 
and apply for and be issued a business license and tobacco endorsement for any calendar 
year subsequent to 2007 before tobacco sales are made. 

 
DATED this 26th day of July, 2006. 
 
     By:  Signed      
      Signature 
      Emil Notti     
      Name 
      Commissioner     
      Title 
 

[This document has been modified to conform to technical standards for publication.] 
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