
BEFORE THE ALASKA OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 
ON REFERRAL BY THE ALASKA COMMISSION ON POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 

 
IN THE MATTER OF    ) 
      ) 
 A. S.      ) Case No. OAH-09-0533-PFE 
____________________________________) ACPE  Case No. 0183886149  
        

DECISION 

I. Introduction 

The appellant, A. S., appeals a claim on her permanent fund dividend (PFD) by 

the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (“the commission”).  Administrative Law 

Judge Dale Whitney heard the appeal on November 12, 2009.  Stephanie Butler represented the 

ACPE by telephone.  Ms. S. did not appear at the hearing.   

Ms. S. has not met her burden of proving that the ACPE failed to send a notice of 

default in compliance with the law, that the notice of default had been rescinded, or that the 

amount owed was less than the amount taken from the PFD. 

II.  Facts 

 The commission has claimed Ms. S.’s 2009 permanent fund dividend for application 

against a defaulted Alaska Education Loan.  The appeal form that the commission had sent to 

Ms. S. contained three bases for appeal with a check box for each paragraph.  The three 

reasons listed for appeal of a claim on a PFD are: 

 ACPE has not sent a Notice of Initial Default (notice that my loan(s) is 180 days or more 
past due) to my address of record at the time of default, as required by Alaska Statute 
14.43.145(b); 

 
 The Notice of Default has been rescinded by ACPE after review under Alaska Statute 

14.43.145(c) (attach copy of rescission notice); or 
 

 The amount ACPE claimed from my Alaska PFD is greater than the full accelerated 
unpaid balance on my loan(s). 

These paragraphs are followed by a blank space for “additional information.” 

Ms. S. checked all three boxes on the form.  In the space for additional information 

Ms. S. wrote, “I do not understand.  They said they sent me a bill but sent it to the State of 

Idaho.  Why I don’t know.” Ms. S. did not provide any additional evidence. 

The commission asserts that Ms. S. owed principal of $2,643.25 as of September 8, 

2009, along with interest of $642.90.  The commission asserts that it properly sent notices of 

default, and that it did not rescind the notices.   
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III.  Discussion  

 By law, the commission is allowed to take a student loan borrower’s PFD when the loan 

is in default.1 When the commission makes a claim against a PFD, it must provide the borrower 

with an opportunity for a hearing on the claim, but the grounds on which the borrower can 

challenge the claim are limited to just three: 

1. the commission did not send a notice of default in compliance with the law; 

2. the notice of default has been rescinded; 

3. “the amount owed by the borrower is less than the amount claimed from the permanent 

fund dividend.”2  

At a hearing, the borrower has the burden of proving one of these three elements.3  Ms. S. 

has not provided any evidence at all, and there are no facially apparent errors in the 

commission’s action.  Under these circumstances, it cannot be said that Ms. S. has met her 

burden of proof.  

IV.  Conclusion 

 Ms. S. has not met her burden of proving that the commission did not send a notice 

of default in compliance with the law, that the notice of default has been rescinded, or that the 

amount she owed was less than the amount claimed from her permanent fund dividend.  The 

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education is entitled to maintain the claim on Ms. 

S.’s permanent fund dividends. 

DATED this 13th day of November, 2009. 

 
      By: Signed     

       DALE WHITNEY 
         Administrative Law Judge 

                                                           
1 AS 14.43.145(a)(2); AS 43.23.067. 
2 AS 43.23.067(c). 
3 Id. 



   
 

OAH No. 09-0533-PFE Page 3                Decision 
   

Adoption 
 
 The undersigned, on behalf of the Alaska Commission on Post Secondary Education and 
in accordance with AS 44.64.060, adopts this Decision and Order as the final administrative 
determination in this matter.  

 
Judicial review of this decision may be obtained by filing an appeal in the Alaska 

Superior Court in accordance with Alaska R. App. P. 602(a)(2) within 30 days after the date of 
this decision. 

 
DATED this 23rd day of December, 2009. 
 
     By: Signed      
      Signature 
      Diane Barrans     
      Name 
      Executive Director    

       Title 
 
                                  [This document has been modified to conform to technical standards for publication.] 
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