BEFORE THE ALASKA OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGSON REFERRAL
BY THE ALASKA COMMISSION ON POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION

IN THE MATTER OF )
)
A.S. ) Case No. OAH-09-0530-PFE
) ACPE Case No. 7910577042

DECISION

I. Introduction

The appellant, A. S., appeals a claim on her permanent fund dividend (PFD)
by the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (“the commission”). Administrative
Law Judge Dale Whitney heard the appeal on November 12, 2009. Stephanie Butler represented
the ACPE by telephone. Ms. S. did not appear.

Ms. S. has not met her burden of proving that the ACPE failed to send a notice of
default in compliance with the law, that the notice of default had been rescinded, or that the
amount owed was less than the amount taken from the PFD.

Il. Facts

The commission has claimed Ms. S.’s 2009 permanent fund dividend for
application against a defaulted Alaska Education Loan. The appeal form that the commission
had sent to Ms. S. contained three bases for appeal with a check box for each paragraph.

The three reasons listed for appeal of a claim on a PFD are:

O ACPE has not sent a Notice of Initial Default (notice that my loan(s) is 180 days or more
past due) to my address of record at the time of default, as required by Alaska Statute
14.43.145(b);

O The Notice of Default has been rescinded by ACPE after review under Alaska Statute
14.43.145(c) (attach copy of rescission notice); or

U The amount ACPE claimed from my Alaska PFD is greater than the full accelerated
unpaid balance on my loan(s).
These paragraphs are followed by a blank space for “additional information.”
Ms. S. checked the last box indicating that the amount the commission claimed
from her PFD is greater than the amount she owes. In a space for “additional information,” Ms.
S. wrote, “single mother, you see my income, need this for rent.” Ms. S. attached
a copy of her 2008 income tax return.
The commission asserts that Ms. S. owed principal of $2,353.50 as of September

8, 2009, along with interest of $176.61. The commission asserts that it properly sends notices of



default, and that it did not rescind the notices. Although she checked the box indicating the
commission took more from her PFD than she owed, Ms. S. did not provide any evidence
to support this assertion, nor did she explain how much, if any, the commission should have
taken.
I11. Discussion
By law, the commission is allowed to take a student loan borrower’s PFD when the loan
is in default.! When the commission makes a claim against a PFD, it must provide the borrower
with an opportunity for a hearing on the claim, but the grounds on which the borrower can
challenge the claim are limited to just three:
1. the commission did not send a notice of default in compliance with the law;
2. the notice of default has been rescinded;
3. “the amount owed by the borrower is less than the amount claimed from the permanent
fund dividend.”?
At a hearing, the borrower has the burden of proving one of these three elements.® Ms. S.
has not provided any evidence at all, and there are no facially apparent errors in the
commission’s action. While Ms. S.’s strained financial situation is unfortunate, personal
hardship does not provide a basis to prevent a claim on a PFD for amounts owed under a
defaulted student loan. Under these circumstances, it cannot be said that Ms. S. has met
her burden of proof.
IVV. Conclusion
Ms. S. has not met her burden of proving that the commission did not send a
notice of default in compliance with the law, that the notice of default has been rescinded, or that
the amount she owed was less than the amount claimed from her permanent fund dividend. The
Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education is entitled to maintain the claim on Ms.
S.’s permanent fund dividends.
DATED this 13th day of November, 20009.

By: Signed
DALE WHITNEY
Administrative Law Judge

1 AS 14.43.145(a)(2); AS 43.23.067.

2 AS 43.23.067(c).

¥ 1d.
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Adoption

The undersigned, on behalf of the Alaska Commission on Post Secondary Education and

in accordance with AS 44.64.060, adopts this Decision and Order as the final administrative
determination in this matter.

Judicial review of this decision may be obtained by filing an appeal in the Alaska

Superior Court in accordance with Alaska R. App. P. 602(a)(2) within 30 days after the date of
this decision.

DATED this 23rd day of December, 2009.

By:  Signed
Signature
Diane Barrans
Name
Executive Director
Title

[This document has been modified to conform to technical standards for publication.]
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