
BEFORE THE ALASKA OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 
ON REFERRAL BY THE COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE 

 
In the Matter of:     ) 
      ) 
A W     ) 
      ) OAH No. 11-0395-PFD 
2011 Permanent Fund Dividend             ) Agency No. 2011-039-7716 
 

DECISION 

I.   Introduction 

A W timely applied for a 2011 permanent fund dividend (PFD).  The Permanent Fund 

Division denied Ms. W’s application because she was not physically present in Alaska for at least 

72 consecutive hours during 2009 or 2010 as required by AS 43.23.005(a)(4).1  At Ms. W’s request, 

a formal hearing by telephone was held on November 14, 2011.  Ms. W was called at the telephone 

number provided on her request for formal hearing form and at another number on file with the 

division.  Neither number was answered.  The record remained open for ten days to provide Ms. W 

with an opportunity to show reasonable cause for her failure to participate in the hearing.2  The 

division’s denial is affirmed because Ms. W was not physically present for 72 hours as required by 

statute.  

II.   Facts  

The facts of this case are not in dispute, the sole issue being their legal significance. 3  Ms. 

W moved to Alaska from Washington State in October, 2001.  She applied for and received PFDs 

from 2003 through 2009.  She did not apply for a 2010 PFD.  On her 2011 PFD application, Ms. W 

indicated that she had been absent from Alaska from September 15, 2008 through January 25, 

2011.4  Ms. W’s application was filed on February 24, 2011.  She confirmed that she was not in 

Alaska for at least 72 consecutive hours in 2009 or 2010.   

Ms. W explained to the division that she did not return to Alaska during that time because 

her daughter required continuous medical treatment in Washington.  As an additional fact to be 

                                                           
1  An Alaska resident is eligible to receive a PFD if the person “has been physically present in the state for at 
least 72 consecutive hours at some time during the prior two years before the current dividend year.”  AS 
43.23.005(a)(4). 
2  15 AAC 05.030(j). 
3  The facts are taken from the agency record, exhibits 1 – 6. 
4  Exh. 1 at 3. 
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considered, Ms. W wrote that her daughter “was in Alaska in 2009 and 2010 well over the 72 hours 

. . ..”5   

 III.   Discussion 

 An otherwise eligible individual not physically present in Alaska remains eligible for a PFD 

if that person was accompanying a minor who was absent receiving continuous medical treatment.6  

This type of absence is referred to as an “allowable absence.”  The unchallenged evidence 

establishes that Ms. W was allowably absent accompanying her daughter.  However, most 

allowable absences are not without limits.  One such limit is the requirement that a person who is 

allowably absent must return “for at least 72 consecutive hours at some time during the prior two 

years before the current dividend year.”7   

It is undisputed that Ms. W was not physically present for the required 72 hours.  She asks 

that her daughter be found eligible because the daughter did return in excess of 72 hours during the 

period in question.  Her daughter’s application at the time of the hearing had been denied but had 

not been appealed.   

The language of the statute is clear and leaves no room for discretion.  Ms. W did not meet 

the 72 hour requirement and is thus not eligible for a 2011 PFD.  The law does not recognize an 

exception to the 72 hour rule except in the most limited of circumstances not present here.8   

The PFD division correctly applied the law when it denied her application for a 2011 permanent 

fund dividend. This decision does not affect her status as an Alaska resident or her eligibility for 2012 

and future dividends.  

If the minor child meets all eligibility requirements but was denied for lack of an eligible 

sponsor, she may be able to substitute a sponsor or she may be able to apply on her own behalf 

when she turns 18 provided so long as she does so before she reaches the age of 20.9  Because this 

opportunity will be lost after the child reaches 20 years of age, Ms. W should remind her daughter 

to apply immediately after her eighteenth birthday.   

 
5  Exh. 6 at 2.  
6  AS 43.23.008(a)(12). 
7  AS 42.23.005(a)(4). 
8  AS 43.23.005(f) provides that the Commissioner of Revenue may waive the 72 hour requirement in the time of 
a national military emergency or if the individual is in the custody of the Department of Health and Social Services 
under a court order.   
9 15 AAC 23.133(b)-(c). 
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IV. Conclusion 

To be eligible for a 2011 PFD Ms. W must have returned to Alaska for at least 72 

consecutive hours during 2009 or 2010.  She did not.  The division correctly denied A W’s 

application for a 2011 PFD.   

DATED this 24th day of January, 2012. 
 
 
      By:  Signed      

Rebecca L. Pauli 
      Administrative Law Judge 

 
 
 

Adoption 
 
 This Order is issued under the authority of AS 43.05.010 and AS 44.17.010. The 
undersigned, on behalf of the Commissioner of Revenue and in accordance with AS 44.64.060, 
adopts this Decision and Order as the final administrative determination in this matter.  

 
Judicial review of this decision may be obtained by filing an appeal in the Alaska Superior 

Court in accordance with Alaska R. App. P. 602(a)(2) within 30 days after the date of this decision. 
 
DATED this 21st day of February, 2012. 
 

By:  Signed      
      Signature 
      Rebecca L. Pauli________________ 
      Name 
      Administrative Law Judge   
      Title 
 

[This document has been modified to conform to the technical standards for publication.] 
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