
Non-Adoption Options 

 D. The Board of Massage Therapists, in accordance with AS 44.64.060(e)(5), rejects, 

modifies or amends the interpretation or application of a statute or regulation in the decision as 

follows and for these reasons: 
 

In a motion duly made by Traci Gilmour and seconded by Jill Motz, with a roll call vote it was: 

 

Resolved to reject the recommendation of His Honor, Administrative Law Judge, Lawrence A. 

Pederson, regarding case number OAH 16-1446-MAS in the matter of H M K. The board decided 

to uphold its original decision to deny Ms. K’s application for licensure due to her conviction of 

prostitution; which is a violation of the professional standards and moral turpitude as laid out in 12 

AAC 79.900 and 12 AAC 79.910(11). The applicant was also unable to demonstrate that she can 

practice competently and safely as required in Sec. 08.61.030(9). 

 

 Judicial review of this decision may be obtained by filing an appeal in the Alaska 

Superior Court in accordance with AS 44.62.560 and Alaska R. App. P. 602(a)(2) within 30 days 

after the date of this decision. 

 

 DATED this 10 day of August, 2017. 

 

           By: Signed      

       Signature 

       David Edwards-Smith    

       Name 

       Board Chair     

       Title 

 
[This document has been modified to conform to the technical standards for publication.] 

 

  



   

 

OAH No. 16-1446-MAS    Decision 2 

BEFORE THE ALASKA OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS ON REFERRAL 

FROM THE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPISTS 

 

In the Matter of    ) 

      ) 

 H M K     )  OAH No. 16-1446-MAS 

      )  Agency No. 2016-001431 

  

[REJECTED PROPOSED] DECISION 

I. Introduction 

 H M K applied for an Alaska license as a massage therapist.  Ms. K has two prostitution 

convictions in California, both for incidents which occurred in 2011.  Based upon those two 

convictions, the Alaska Board of Massage Therapists (Board) denied her application.  Ms. K 

requested an evidentiary hearing to challenge that denial. 

 Ms. K’s hearing was held on February 9, 2017.  Ms. K represented herself.  Assistant 

Attorney General Harriet Milks represented the Division of Corporations, Business & 

Professional Licensing.  

 It is undisputed that Ms. K has two prostitution convictions.  These are crimes involving 

moral turpitude, as defined by the Board’s licensing regulations.  However, given Ms. K’s 

changed circumstances, she has demonstrated that she can practice the profession of Massage 

Therapy competently and safely.  Regardless, given the fact that only five years have elapsed 

since her convictions, this is a case where it is appropriate to issue only a limited license, with 

Ms. K being placed on probation for two years.   

II. Facts 

 Ms. K was born and raised in Korea.  She came to the United States in 1988, when she 

was a teenager.  She returned to Korea and then moved to the United States permanently in 2000, 

when she was approximately 27 years old.  She worked as a waitress and in the import clothing 

field until 2010.  She fell into dire financial straits and filed bankruptcy.  In 2011, she was the 

sole support of her seven-person family, which included her two young children, was in 

desperate need of income, and was working in the massage field in Los Angeles.1   

 While Ms. K was working as a massage therapist in Los Angeles, she was arrested twice 

for prostitution in 2011, once in July and again in October.  Both of these arrests occurred while 

she was working at a massage business.  She pleaded guilty to, and was convicted of, a 

                                                           
1  Ms. K’s testimony. 
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misdemeanor charge of prostitution in both cases.  She received a suspended imposition of 

sentence for the July incident on February 2, 2012, where she was placed on probation for 36 

months.  She received a suspended imposition of sentence for the October incident on August 28, 

2012, where she was placed on probation for 36 months.2  Ms. K does not have any subsequent 

criminal convictions. 

 Ms. K’s circumstances have changed dramatically since 2011.  She has a small boutique 

clothing store in Los Angeles, and she has also worked in Alaska since 2013 as a massage 

therapist.  She holds a business license.3  She explained that she worked at several massage 

businesses, and that they required her to be a subcontractor with her own business license.  She is 

engaged to be married to an Alaska resident and plans to move to Alaska full time.  She intends 

to practice massage in Alaska.  Ms. K has no intention of repeating her earlier mistakes.4  Ms. 

K’s fiancée was present with her at the hearing, was supportive of her, and is aware of her 

history.   

 Ms. K appeared for her hearing in-person.  It was possible to observe her reactions to 

questions and other persons’ statements.  While she could understand and follow the 

proceedings, it was clear that her English speaking and comprehension skills were limited.  Ms. 

K, based upon an observation of her demeanor and her answers to questioning, was a credible 

witness.      

III. Discussion 

  The Massage Therapists Board’s licensing statute provides the Board with the discretion 

to grant or deny a license application when an applicant has a criminal conviction involving 

moral turpitude.  Moral turpitude is an imprecise term, which has multiple and conflicting 

interpretations.5  However, the Board’s regulations avoid the ambiguity inherent in the term 

“moral turpitude” by explicitly listing those matters that the Board considers to be crimes 

involving moral turpitude.  Prostitution is one of those listed crimes.6  Accordingly, for an 

applicant with a prostitution conviction to receive a massage therapist’s license, the Board must 

find that “the conviction does not affect the person’s ability to practice competently and safely.”7  

                                                           
2  Record, pp. 13 – 22. 
3  Record, pp. 4 – 7. 
4  Ms. K’s testimony. 
5  Moral turpitude is generally defined as “[c]onduct that is contrary to justice, honesty, or morality.”  Black’s 

Law Dictionary 1101 (9th Edition). 
6  12 AAC 79.910(11). 
7  AS 08.61.030(9). 
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 Ms. K has two prostitution convictions.  As the applicant, it is her obligation to 

demonstrate that those convictions do not affect her “ability to practice competently and safely.”  

 The Massage Therapists Board’s licensing scheme does not limit how far the Board can 

look back when considering an applicant’s criminal convictions.  The Board, however, has some 

informal guidelines, not adopted into regulation, which generally require that applicants who 

have a conviction within five years for petty crimes/misdemeanors, and specific other crimes, 

including harassment (five years), burglary (10 years), and assault (five years), be subject to 

investigation.  Those same guidelines do not address prostitution convictions.  Nor do they set a 

bright line rule for whether such applicants should have their applications denied.8  

  Colleen Kautz, the Division’s professional licensing program coordinator, supervises the 

massage program and staff.  She testified that prostitution convictions raise a red flag because of 

the potential for a massage practice being a front for prostitution.  Ms. K’s two convictions, 

which were close together in time, suggested a pattern of behavior in her opinion.  Ms. Kautz 

stated that the Board had not granted any applications where the applicant had a criminal 

conviction less than seven years old.9  However, she did not provide any context, such as 

whether the Board has ever considered an application from an applicant with a conviction less 

than seven years old. 

 Ms. K’s latest conviction occurred on August 28, 2012.  She began working as a massage 

therapist in Alaska in 2013, without any subsequent criminal charges or convictions.  Neither the 

licensing statutes nor the regulations provide any guidance to the Board in the exercise of its 

discretion, merely that it must determine whether Ms. K can practice the profession 

“competently and safely” despite her conviction.  The Board’s informal policy on criminal 

convictions does not address prostitution convictions.  While the Board has disciplinary actions 

listed on its website, that list does not contain any information regarding the factual basis for the 

discipline imposed, nor any details on the actual discipline except for “denied,” “surrendered,” 

and “probation.”  This decision appears to be the first that addresses the impact of a 

misdemeanor criminal conviction for prostitution on an application for a license, after the 

                                                           
8  See Board Minutes from November 5- 6, 2015, p. 6 (available online at 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/MAS_Minutes_11.5.15.pdf); also see draft Board Minutes 

from March 6 – 7, 2015, pp. 7 – 8 (available online at 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/MAS_Minutes_2017-03.pdf).     
9  Ms. Kautz’s testimony. 
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applicant has been provided a hearing.10  Accordingly, there is no precedent to assist the Board in 

making this decision.   

 After research, there are several out-of-state cases that provide information on how other 

jurisdictions have handled similar cases.11  In a 2005 Arizona case, where a person already 

holding a massage license had a misdemeanor criminal conviction for prostitution in 2005, 

arising out of a 2004 incident, the Arizona State Massage Therapy Board exercised its 

discretionary authority and revoked the licensee’s license for two years.  That licensee, like Ms. 

K, was an immigrant who was the sole financial support for her family.12  In a Maryland case, an 

April 2000 applicant for a massage therapy license had a 1999 prostitution conviction.  The 

Maryland Board exercised its discretion to deny her application.  That denial was upheld on 

appeal.13  In a Nevada case, a person with a 2007 prostitution-related conviction applied for 

massage licensure in 2014.  The Massage Therapy Board approved her license, subject to two 

years’ probation.14 

 The Board has several options available to it, which are set out in AS 08.01.075: it can 

grant the license, deny the license, impose a fine, place conditions on the license, or impose 

probation.  The Board “shall seek consistency in the application of disciplinary sanctions.”15  

 The Board should take the following factors into account, when resolving this case: 

1. Ms. K’s criminal convictions arose out of incidents that occurred when she was working 

in a massage business – a matter of concern to this Board, since prostitution enterprises can and 

do masquerade as massage businesses. 

2. Ms. K’s convictions are five years old (February 2012) and approximately four and one-

half years old (August 2012).  The underlying incidents occurred more than five years ago. 

                                                           
10  The Massage Therapists Board is relatively new and has had very few cases in front of the Office of 

Administrative Hearings.  While there are other Massage Therapists Board cases pending in front of the Office of 

Administrative Hearings, none have reached the point of a decision being issued.   
11  There was a dearth of available information online.  Not all states have statewide massage licensing 

programs, merely local ones.  Those that do, do not generally post their discipline actions online.     
12  In the Matter of Le, Arizona Office of Administrative Hearings Case No. 05A-005-MTB (Arizona Massage 

Therapy Board 2006).  That decision is available online at https://portal.azoah.com/search1400/Default.aspx (enter 

the case no. at the search page).    
13  Stidwell v. Maryland State Bd. Of Chiropractic Examiners, 799 A.2d 444 (MD Ct. of Special Appeals 

2002). 
14  See Nevada State Board of Massage Therapists minutes of February 6, 2015 meeting, pp. 12 – 13. 

(http://massagetherapy.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/massagetherapy.nv.gov/content/About/Board_Meetings/2015-02-

06%20Minutes%20NSBMT.pdf). 
15  AS 08.01.075(f). 
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3. Ms. K has not had any subsequent criminal convictions of any kind, despite continuing to 

work as a massage therapist.  In addition, Ms. K’s life has changed considerably since her 

convictions.  She credibly presented herself as determined not to repeat her earlier mistakes. 

4. The Board has an informal adopted policy that provides that applicants with criminal 

convictions for personal offenses such as harassment and assault, within five years, be 

investigated.  It, however, has not adopted any explicit policies of the effect of those convictions.  

  Although Ms. Kautz testified that the Board has not granted any applications where the 

applicant had a criminal conviction less than seven years old, that practice should not be 

considered as dispositive in this case because the Board has yet to set consistent practices after 

applicants and licensees have presented their cases through the administrative hearing process.  

This case provides the Board with the opportunity to begin establishing consistent discipline 

practices. 

 The facts, specifically the passage of time since Ms. K’s convictions, the age of the 

underlying offenses, the lack of subsequent offenses, and the change in Ms. K’s life, demonstrate, 

by a preponderance of the evidence, that Ms. K can practice the massage profession competently 

and safely.  Regardless, her prostitution convictions leave some lingering uncertainty in this regard 

and provide a legitimate basis for concern on the Board’s part.  Because the underlying offenses 

occurred five years ago, granting a license with a two-year probationary period would assuage those 

concerns.  The probation condition would be that an arrest for a crime involving moral turpitude, as 

defined by the Board’s regulations, would be grounds for summary suspension, and that a 

conviction would be grounds for immediate revocation.   

IV. Conclusion 

 Ms. K’s license application is approved.  However, her license is placed on a probation 

status, subject to the condition that she neither be arrested or convicted for any crime involving 

moral turpitude as it is defined in the Board’s regulations for a two-year period from the date of 

adoption of this decision.  Upon arrest for such a crime during the probationary period, her 

license shall be immediately suspended without further action by the Board, subject to a right to 

a hearing under AS 08.01.075(c).  Upon conviction of such a crime for conduct occurring during 

the probationary period, her license shall be revoked. 

 Dated this 6th day of April, 2017. By: Signed      

 Lawrence A. Pederson 

Administrative Law Judge 

[This document has been modified to conform to the technical standards for publication.] 


