Department of Administration



ALASKA PUBLIC OFFICES COMMISSION

2221 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Rm. 128 Anchorage, AK 99508-4149 Main: 907.276.4176 Fax: 907.276.7018 www.doa.alaska.gov/apoc

June 9, 2023

VIA CERTIFIED MAIL, US MAIL, AND EMAIL

Anne Helzer

10941 Lipscomb Street

Anchorage, Alaska 99516

Anne.helzer@gmail.com

Re: Notice of Penalty – Revised¹

Dear Ms. Helzer:

According to our records you did not timely file your 2023 Final Public Official Financial Disclosure (POFD) Statement that was due on June 5, 2023. Instead, your statement was filed on June 7, 2023 (2 days late). By law, a maximum penalty of \$10 accrues each day the report is late.² The maximum penalty the Alaska Public Offices Commission could assess you is \$20.³

However, because this was your final statement, regulation allows APOC staff to document the violation and reduce the assessed penalty to 50% of the maximum.⁴ Accordingly, the assessed penalty owed is \$10.

Additionally, please be advised:

1) You may pay the reduced penalty and avoid formal Commission action by remitting payment by check or money order payable to the State of Alaska to the Alaska Public Offices Commission at the address above; visiting our website⁵ to make a payment by credit card; or you may pay in cash at our offices. Payment must be made within thirty days of the date of this letter. If you are unable to pay the entire assessed penalty in a single payment and wish to discuss a payment plan, or have any other questions concerning this matter, please contact the APOC staff.

³ 2 AAC 50.855(a).

PLEASE NOTE: credit card payment cannot be made by phone; they must be made online.

An earlier version of this notice, issued June 9, 2023, indicated you had already submitted an appeal. This version corrects that error.

² AS 39.50.135.

⁴ 2 AAC 50.855(b)(1)(C).

https://aws.state.ak.us/ApocReports/Paper/CommissionCivilPenalties.aspx

2) Alternatively, you have the right to appeal staff's conclusion that a violation has occurred, or the reduced penalty amount assessed.⁶ If you wish to appeal you must submit the enclosed appeal affidavit to APOC within thirty days of the date of this letter.

Failure to respond to this notice by either making arrangement for payment or submitting an appeal within thirty days will result in staff presenting this matter to the Commission for entry of a final order in the amount of the assessed penalty and referral to the Attorney General's Office.⁷

A copy of this letter will be placed in your APOC file and is considered a public document. If you have any questions about this matter, please contact APOC staff.

Thank you,

ALASKA PUBLIC OFFICES COMMISSION

Heather R. Hebdon Executive Director

Encl: Civil Penalty Appeal Affidavit 2 AAC 50.865

aren R. Lebol

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE:

I hereby certify that on this date, I caused a true and correct copy of the foregoing to be delivered to:

Anne Helzer 10941 Lipscomb Street Anchorage, Alaska 99516 Anne.helzer@gmail.com ☑ Certified Mail☑ US Mail☑ Email

Dache Fergusan Law Office Assistant

06/09/2023

Date

w Office Assistant

9171-9690-0935-0298-1130-45

⁵ 2 AAC 50.831(a).

⁷ 2 AAC 50.895.