

# **Department of Administration**

#### ALASKA PUBLIC OFFICES COMMISSION

2221 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Rm. 128 Anchorage, AK 99508-4149 Main: 907.276.4176 Fax: 907.276.7018 www.doa.alaska.gov/apoc

October 25, 2017

### VIA EMAIL & CERTIFIED MAIL

Gabby's Tuesday PAC Attn: Representative Gabriel LeDoux 8859 Cross Pointe Loop Anchorage, Alaska 99504 Alaska.gabrielle@gmail.com

RE: Notice of Penalty Assessment – Registration before Expenditure<sup>1</sup>

## Dear Representative LeDoux:

According to our records, your group did not timely file its group registration which was due no later than August 23, 2017. Instead, the registration was filed on October 16, 2017 (54 days late). By law, a maximum penalty of \$50 accrues each day the report is late.<sup>2</sup> The Maximum civil penalty the Alaska Public Offices Commission could assess you is \$2,700<sup>3</sup>

On October 13, 2017 you notified staff that you failed to timely file the report. Staff is ceasing the accrual of penalties as of the day you self-reported and is reducing the penalty to 25% of the adjusted maximum civil penalty that could have been assessed because the group self-reported the missing information and disclosed the information within 7 days of self-reporting.<sup>4</sup> The assessed civil penalty is \$625.

## You have a number of options in this matter:

1) You may pay this penalty and avoid formal Commission action by remitting payment by check or money order payable to the State of Alaska to the Alaska Public Offices Commission at the address above; or, you may pay in cash at our offices. Payment must be made within thirty days of the date of this letter. If you are unable to pay the entire assessed penalty in a single payment and wish to discuss a payment plan, or have any other question concerning this matter, please contact the APOC staff.

AS 15.13.390(a).

AS 15.13.050(a).

<sup>2</sup> AAC 50.855(a).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> 2 AAC 50.855(b)(2)(B)(ii).

2) Alternatively, you have the right to appeal staff's conclusion that a violation has occurred or the penalty amount assessed.<sup>5</sup> If you wish to appeal you must submit the enclosed appeal affidavit to APOC within thirty days of the date of this letter.6

If you appeal, staff will review your affidavit and prepare a recommendation for the Commission to consider concerning the violation and the penalty amount. You will receive a copy of that recommendation and a notification of when the Commission will meet to consider the matter. When the Commission reviews the appeal and recommendation you will have the opportunity to participate in the meeting either in person or telephonically.

Failure to respond to this notice by either making arrangements for payment within thirty days or submitting an appeal within thirty days will result in staff presenting this matter to the Commission for a final order in the amount of the maximum penalty.

A copy of this letter will be placed in your APOC file and is considered a public document. If you have any questions about this matter please contact APOC staff.

ALASKA PUBLIC OFFICES COMMISSION

Thomas R. Lucus

Thomas R. Lucas Campaign Disclosure Coordinator

Encl: Civil Penalty Appeal Affidavit

2 AAC 50.865

Group File (w/o enclosures) cc:

9171-9690-0935-0168-9150-07

**CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE:** I hereby certify that on this date, I caused a true and correct copy of the foregoing to be delivered to: Gabby's Tuesday PAC Attn: Representative Certified Mail Gabriel LeDoux 8859 Cross Pointe Loop Anchorage, Alaska 99504 Alaska.gabrielle@gmail.co

Michael F. Schwahn 10-25-2017

AS 15.13.390(a).

<sup>2</sup> AAC 50.831(a).