

ALASKA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM INDIVIDUAL PERMIT –DRAFT

Permit Number: AK0053635

ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION Wastewater Discharge Authorization Program 555 Cordova Street Anchorage, AK 99501

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act (CWA), 33 U.S.C. §1251 *et seq.*, as amended by the Water Quality Act of 1987, P.L. 100-4, this permit is issued under provisions of Alaska Statutes (AS) 46.03; the Alaska Administrative Code (AAC) as amended; and other applicable State laws and regulations. The

NORTH TONGASS CAR WASH

is authorized to discharge from the North Tongass Car Wash facility at 5559 North Tongass Highway, Ketchikan, Alaska at the following location(s):

Outfall	Receiving Water or Body	Latitude	Longitude
001	Tongass Narrows	55.386956° North	131.738704° West

In accordance with the discharge point(s) effluent limitations, monitoring requirements, and other conditions set forth herein:

This permit and authorization shall become effective DRAFT

This permit and the authorization to discharge shall expire at midnight, DRAFT

The permittee shall reapply for a permit reissuance on or before DRAFT, 180 days before the expiration of this permit if the permittee intends to continue operations and discharge(s) at the facility beyond the term of this permit.

The permittee shall post or maintain a copy of this permit to discharge at the facility and make it available to the public, employees, and subcontractors at the facility.

DRAFT	DRAFT
Signature	Date
DRAFT	Program Manager
Printed Name	Title

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SCF	IEDU	ULE OF SUBMISSIONS	3
1.0	LIN	MITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS	3
	1.1	Discharge Authorization	3
	1.2	Effluent Limits and Monitoring	3
2.0	SPE	ECIAL CONDITIONS	5
	2.1	Quality Assurance Project Plan	5
	2.2	Operation and Maintenance Plan	6
	2.3	Electronic Reporting (E-Reporting) Rule	6
	2.4	Removed Substances	6
		LIST OF TABLES	
	Tab	ole 1: Schedule of Submissions	3
	Tab	ble 2: Outfall 001 Effluent Limits and Monitoring Requirements	4
		LIST OF APPENDICES	
	App	pendix A – Standard Conditions	A-1
	App	pendix B – Acronyms	B-1
	Ann	pendix C – Definitions	C-1

SCHEDULE OF SUBMISSIONS

The Schedule of Submissions summarizes some of the required submissions and activities the permittee must complete and/or submit to the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) during the term of this permit. The permittee is responsible for all submissions and activities even if they are not summarized below.

Table 1: Schedule of Submissions

Permit Part	Submittal or Completion	Frequency	Due Date	Submit to ^a
Appendix A, 3.2	Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR)	Once per Year	Must be postmarked or submitted electronically through the eDMR system, on or before the 15 th day of the following month.	Compliance Program
Permit Section 2.1	Quality Assurance Project Plan (QAPP) written notification of completion	1/permit cycle	Within 120 days after the effective date of the final permit	Compliance Program
Permit Section 2.2	Written notification of Operation and Maintenance (O & M) Plan development and implemetaion	1/permit cycle	Within 180 days after the effective date of the final permit	Compliance Program
Appendix A, 1.3	Application for Permit Reissuance	1/permit cycle	180 days before expiration of the final permit	Permitting Program
Appendix A, 3.4	Oral notification of noncompliance	As Necessary	Within 24 hours from the time the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances of noncompliance	Compliance Program
Appendix A, 3.4	Written documentation of noncompliance	As Necessary	Within 5 days after the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances	Compliance Program
a) See Appendix A 1.1 for a	addresses			

1.0 LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS

1.1 Discharge Authorization

During the effective period of this permit, the permittee is authorized to discharge pollutants from Outfall 001 specified herein to Tongass Narrows, within the limits and subject to conditions set forth herein. This permit authorizes discharge of only those pollutants resulting from facility processes, waste streams, and operations clearly identified in the permit application process.

1.2 Effluent Limits and Monitoring

1.2.1 The permittee must limit and monitor discharges from Outfall 001 as specified in Table 2. All values represent maximum effluent limits, unless otherwise indicated. The permittee must comply with effluent limitations in the table at all times unless otherwise indicated, regardless of monitoring frequency or reporting required by other provisions of this permit.

Table 2: Outfall 001 Effluent Limits and Monitoring Requirements

Effluent Limits		nt Limits	Monitoring Requirements		
Parameter	Daily Minimum	Daily Maximum	Units	Sample Frequency	Sample Type
Total Discharge Flow	N/A	Report	Gallons per Day (GPD)		Estimated or Recorded
011 1.0	27/4	15	Milligrams per Liter (mg/L)		Grab
Oil and Grease	N/A	0.18 a	Pounds per Day (lbs/day)		
pН	6.5	8.5	Standard Units (SU)		Grab
Total Aromatic	N/A	10	Micrograms per liter (μg/L)	Once per Year ^b	Grab
Hydrocarbons (TAH)		0.00012	lbs/day		
Total Aqueous	N/A	15	μg/L		Grab
Hydrocarbons (TAqH)		0.00018	lbs/day		Grao
Chemical Oxygen Demand (COD)	N/A	Report	mg/L		Grab
Total Cusmanded Calida	N/A	60	mg/L		Grab
Total Suspended Solids	IN/A	0.78	lbs/day		Grab
Residues	The permittee must not discharge any floating solids, debris, sludge, deposits, foam, scum or other residues that cause a film, sheen, or discoloration on the surface of the receiving water or adjoining shorelines; cause leaching of toxic or deleterious substances; or cause a sludge, solid, or emulsion to be deposited beneath or upon the surface of the water, within the water column, on the bottom, or upon adjoining shorelines.			1/Month (April 1- September 30)	Visual ^c

Footnotes:

- a. All mass-based limits calculated using maximum observed flow from permit application- 1,440 GPD.
- b. Once per year means taking one sample per calendar year during the time period April 1-September 30 while the NTCW is washing vehicles and discharging to Tongass Narrows.
- c. If a visible sheen or foam is noted in the receiving water at any time, a letter of noncompliance shall be submitted in accordance with APPENDIX A, Standard Conditions, Section 3.4. The date, time, and result of visual observations for foam and sheen shall be logged. The visual observation log shall be retained on site and made available to the Department upon request.
 - 1.2.2 The permittee must collect effluent samples from the effluent stream after the last treatment unit before discharge into receiving waters.
 - 1.2.3 Effluent samples and visual observations shall be collected and conducted while the facility is washing vehicles and discharging.
 - 1.2.4 The discharge shall not cause contamination of surface or ground waters, and shall not cause or contribute to a violation of the Alaska Water Quality Standards (18 Alaska Administrative Code (AAC) 70), unless allowed in this permit through exceptions to the standards or in a compliance schedule under 18 AAC 70.200 70.270 and 18 AAC 70.910.

- 1.2.5 For all effluent monitoring, the permittee must use a sufficiently sensitive Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) approved test method that quantifies the pollutants to a level lower than applicable limits or water quality standards or use the most sensitive test method available, per Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) § 136 (Guidelines Establishing Test Procedures for the Analysis of Pollutants), adopted by reference at 18 AAC 83.010(f).
- 1.2.6 For purposes of reporting on the discharge monitoring report (DMR) for a single sample, if a value is less than the MDL, the permittee must report "less than [numeric value of MDL]" and if a value is less than a minimum level (ML), the permittee must report "less than [numeric value of ML]."

2.0 SPECIAL CONDITIONS

2.1 Quality Assurance Project Plan

- 2.1.1 Within 120 days of the effective date of the permit, the permittee must develop and implement QAPP for all monitoring required by this permit. Any existing QAPP may be modified under this section.
- 2.1.2 The QAPP must be designed to assist in planning for the collection and analysis of effluent samples in support of the permit and to help explain data anomalies whenever they occur.
- 2.1.3 The permittee must provide written notice to DEC within 120 days of the effective date of the permit that the QAPP has been completed and implemented. The QAPP shall be maintained onsite and made available to DEC upon request.
- 2.1.4 The permittee may use either a generic DEC QAPP or develop a facility-specific QAPP. Some facility specific information is required to complete the QAPP when using the generic DEC QAPP. A generic DEC QAPP is located at http://dec.alaska.gov/water/wqapp/wqapp_index.htm.
- 2.1.5 Throughout all sample collection and analysis activities, the permittee must use DEC-approved QA/QC and chain-of-custody procedures, as described in the *Requirements for Quality Assurance Project Plans* (EPA/QA/R-5) and *Guidance for Quality Assurance Project Plans* (EPA/QA/G-5). https://www.epa.gov/quality/epa-quality-management-tools-projects. The QAPP must be prepared in the format specified in these documents.
- 2.1.6 At a minimum, a QAPP must include:
- 2.1.6.1 Details on number of samples, type of sample containers, preservation of samples, holding times, analytical methods, analytical detection and quantitation limits for each target compound, type and number of quality assurance field samples, precision and accuracy requirements, sample preparation requirements, sample shipping methods, and laboratory data delivery requirements;
- 2.1.6.2 Maps indicating the location of each sampling point;
- 2.1.6.3 Qualification and training of personnel; and
- 2.1.6.4 Name, address, and telephone number of all laboratories used by or proposed to be used by the permittee.
 - 2.1.7 The permittee must amend the QAPP whenever sample collection, sample analysis, or other procedure addressed by the OAPP is modified.

2.2 Operation and Maintenance Plan

In addition to requirements specified in Appendix A, Part 1.6 of this permit (Proper Operation and Maintenance), 180 days after the effective date of this permit, the permittee shall develop and implement an O & M plan for the wastewater treatment facility. The O & M Plan will address the oil water separator, catch basins and trench drain in terms of required intervals for solids removal and intervals for replacement of oil absorbing pads in the oil water separator. The permittee must submit a written notice to DEC notifying that an O & M Plan has been developed and implemented by 180 days after the effective date of this permit. The plan shall be retained on site and made available on request to DEC.

2.3 Electronic Reporting (E-Reporting) Rule

The Permittee is responsible for electronically submitting DMRs and other reports in accordance with 40 CFR §127. The start dates for e-reporting are provided in 40 CFR §127.16. DEC has established a website at http://dec.alaska.gov/water/Compliance/EReportingRule.htm that contains general information. As DEC implements the E-Reporting Rule, more information will be posted on this webpage. The permittee will be further notified by DEC in the future about how to implement the conditions in 40 CFR §127.

2.4 Removed Substances

Collected screenings, grit, solids, scum, and other facility residuals, or other pollutants removed in the course of treatment or control of water and wastewaters shall be disposed of in a Department approved manner and method in accordance with 18 AAC 60, such as to prevent any pollution from such materials from entering navigable waters.

APPENDIX A STANDARD CONDITIONS APDES PERMIT NONDOMESTIC DISCHARGES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1.0	Star	ndard Conditions Applicable to All Permits	A-1
	1.14 1.15 1.16		A-1 A-2 A-2 A-2 A-2 A-2 A-2 A-3 A-3 A-3 A-4 A-5 A-6 A-6
2.0		cial Reporting Obligations	
	2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 2.6 2.7 2.8	Planned Changes Anticipated Noncompliance Transfers Compliance Schedules Corrective Information Bypass of Treatment Facilities Upset Conditions Existing Manufacturing, Commercial, Mining, and Silvicultural Discharges	A-6A-7A-7A-7A-7A-7
3.0	Mor	nitoring, Recording, and Reporting Requirements	A-9
	3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5	Representative Sampling Reporting of Monitoring Results Additional Monitoring by Permittee Twenty-four Hour Reporting Other Noncompliance Reporting	A-9 A-9 A-9
4.0	Pena	alties for Violations of Permit Conditions	A-11
	4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4	Civil Action Injunctive Relief Criminal Action Other Fines	A-11 A-11

Appendix A of the permit contains standard regulatory language that must be included in all APDES permits. These requirements are based on the regulations and cannot be challenged in the context of an individual APDES permit action. The standard regulatory language covers requirements such as monitoring, recording, reporting requirements, compliance responsibilities, and other general requirements. Appendix A, Standard Conditions is an integral and enforceable part of the permit. Failure to comply with a Standard Condition in this Appendix constitutes a violation of the permit and is subject to enforcement.

1.0 Standard Conditions Applicable to All Permits

1.1 Contact Information and Addresses

1.1.1 Permitting Program

Documents, reports, and plans required under the permit and Appendix A are to be sent to the following address:

State of Alaska
Department of Environmental Conservation
Division of Water
Wastewater Discharge Authorization Program
555 Cordova Street
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
Telephone (907) 269-6285
Fax (907) 269-3487
Email: DEC.Water.WOPermit@alaska.gov

1.1.2 Compliance and Enforcement Program

Documents and reports required under the permit and Appendix A relating to compliance are to be sent to the following address:

State of Alaska
Department of Environmental Conservation
Division of Water
Compliance and Enforcement Program
555 Cordova Street
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
Telephone Nationwide (877) 569-4114
Anchorage Area / International (907) 269-4114
Fax (907) 269-4604
Email: dec-wgreporting@alaska.gov

1.2 Duty to Comply

A permittee shall comply with all conditions of the permittee's APDES permit. Any permit noncompliance constitutes a violation of 33 U.S.C 1251-1387 (Clean Water Act) and state law and is grounds for enforcement action including termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification of a permit, or denial of a permit renewal application. A permittee shall comply with effluent standards or prohibitions established under 33 U.S.C. 1317(a) for toxic pollutants within the time provided in the regulations that establish those effluent standards or prohibitions even if the permit has not yet been modified to incorporate the requirement.

1.3 Duty to Reapply

If a permittee wishes to continue an activity regulated by this permit after its expiration date, the permittee must apply for and obtain a new permit. In accordance with 18 AAC 83.105(b), a permittee with a currently effective permit shall reapply by submitting a new application at least 180 days before the existing permit expires, unless the Department has granted the permittee permission to submit an application on a later date. However, the Department will not grant permission for an application to be submitted after the expiration date of the existing permit.

1.4 Need to Halt or Reduce Activity Not a Defense

In an enforcement action, a permittee may not assert as a defense that compliance with the conditions of the permit would have made it necessary for the permittee to halt or reduce the permitted activity.

1.5 Duty to Mitigate

A permittee shall take all reasonable steps to minimize or prevent any discharge in violation of this permit that has a reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the environment.

1.6 Proper Operation and Maintenance

- 1.6.1 A permittee shall at all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and systems of treatment and control and related appurtenances that the permittee installs or uses to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit. The permittee's duty to operate and maintain properly includes using adequate laboratory controls and appropriate quality assurance procedures. However, a permittee is not required to operate back-up or auxiliary facilities or similar systems that a permittee installs unless operation of those facilities is necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit.
- 1.6.2 Operation and maintenance records shall be retained and made available at the site.

1.7 Permit Actions

A permit may be modified, revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause as provided in 18 AAC 83.130. If a permittee files a request to modify, revoke and reissue, or terminate a permit, or gives notice of planned changes or anticipated noncompliance, the filing or notice does not stay any permit condition.

1.8 Property Rights

A permit does not convey any property rights or exclusive privilege.

1.9 Duty to Provide Information

A permittee shall, within a reasonable time, provide to the Department any information that the Department requests to determine whether a permittee is in compliance with the permit, or whether cause exists to modify, revoke and reissue, or terminate the permit. A permittee shall also provide to the Department, upon request, copies of any records the permittee is required to keep under the permit.

1.10 Inspection and Entry

A permittee shall allow the Department, or an authorized representative, including a contractor acting as a representative of the Department, at reasonable times and on presentation of credentials establishing authority and any other documents required by law, to:

- 1.10.1 Enter the premises where a permittee's regulated facility or activity is located or conducted, or where permit conditions require records to be kept;
- 1.10.2 Have access to and copy any records that permit conditions require the permittee to keep;
- 1.10.3 Inspect any facilities, equipment, including monitoring and control equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under a permit; and
- 1.10.4 Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any location for the purpose of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 33 U.S.C. 1251-1387 (Clean Water Act).

1.11 Monitoring and Records

A permittee must comply with the following monitoring and recordkeeping conditions:

- 1.11.1 Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of monitoring must be representative of the monitored activity.
- 1.11.2 The permittee shall retain records in Alaska of all monitoring information for at least three years, or longer at the Department's request at any time, from the date of the sample, measurement, report, or application. Monitoring records required to be kept include:
 - 1.11.2.1 All calibration and maintenance records.
 - 1.11.2.2 All original strip chart recordings or other forms of data approved by the Department for continuous monitoring instrumentation,
 - 1.11.2.3 All reports required by a permit,
 - 1.11.2.4 Records of all data used to complete the application for a permit,
 - 1.11.2.5 Field logbooks or visual monitoring logbooks,
 - 1.11.2.6 Quality assurance chain of custody forms,
 - 1.11.2.7 Copies of discharge monitoring reports, and
 - 1.11.2.8 A copy of this APDES permit.
- 1.11.3 Records of monitoring information must include:
 - 1.11.3.1 The date, exact place, and time of any sampling or measurement;
 - 1.11.3.2 The name(s) of any individual(s) who performed the sampling or measurement(s);
 - 1.11.3.3 The date(s) and time any analysis was performed;
 - 1.11.3.4 The name(s) of any individual(s) who performed any analysis;
 - 1.11.3.5 Any analytical technique or method used; and
 - 1.11.3.6 The results of the analysis.

1.11.4 Monitoring Procedures

Analyses of pollutants must be conducted using test procedures approved under 40 CFR Part 136, adopted by reference at 18 AAC 83.010, for pollutants with approved test procedures, and using test procedures specified in the permit for pollutants without approved methods.

1.12 Signature Requirement and Penalties

- 1.12.1 Any application, report, or information submitted to the Department in compliance with a permit requirement must be signed and certified in accordance with 18 AAC 83.385. Any person who knowingly makes any false material statement, representation, or certification in any application, record, report, or other document filed or required to be maintained under a permit, or who knowingly falsifies, tampers with, or renders inaccurate any monitoring device or method required to be maintained under this permit shall, upon conviction, be subject to penalties under 33 U.S.C. 1319(c)(4), AS 12.55.035(c)(1)(B), (c)(2) and (c)(3), and AS 46.03.790(g).
- 1.12.2 In accordance with 18 AAC 83.385, an APDES permit application must be signed as follows:
 - 1.12.2.1 For a corporation, a responsible corporate officer shall sign the application; in this subsection, a responsible corporate officer means:
 - 1.12.2.1.1 A president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal business function, or any other person who performs similar policy- or decision-making functions for the corporation; or
 - 1.12.2.1.2 The manager of one of more manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, if
 - 1.12.2.1.2.1 The manager is authorized to make management decisions that govern the operation of the regulated facility, including having the explicit or implicit duty of making major capital investment recommendations, and initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to assure long term environmental compliance with environmental statutes and regulations;
 - 1.12.2.1.2.2 The manager can ensure that the necessary systems are established or actions taken to gather complete and accurate information for permit application requirements; and
 - 1.12.2.1.2.3 Authority to sign documents has been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate procedures.
 - 1.12.2.2 For a partnership or sole proprietorship, by the general partner or the proprietor, respectively, shall sign the application
 - 1.12.2.3 For a municipality, state, federal, or other public agency, either a principal executive officer or ranking elected official shall sign the application; in this subsection, a principal executive officer of an agency means:
 - 1.12.2.3.1 The chief executive officer of the agency; or
 - 1.12.2.3.2 A senior executive officer having responsibility for the overall operations of a principal geographic unit or division of the agency.
- 1.12.3 Any report required by an APDES permit, and a submittal with any other information requested by the Department, must be signed by a person described in Appendix A, Part 1.12.2, or by a duly authorized representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized representative only if:
 - 1.12.3.1 The authorization is made in writing by a person described in Appendix A, Part 1.12.2;

- 1.12.3.2 The authorization specifies either an individual or a position having responsibility for the overall operation of the regulated facility or activity, including the position of plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, superintendent, or position of equivalent responsibility; or an individual or position having overall responsibility for environmental matters for the company; and
- 1.12.3.3 The written authorization is submitted to the Department to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.
- 1.12.4 If an authorization under Appendix A, Part 1.12.3 is no longer effective because a different individual or position has responsibility for the overall operation of the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of Appendix A, Part 1.12.3 must be submitted to the Department before or together with any report, information, or application to be signed by an authorized representative.
- 1.12.5 Any person signing a document under Appendix A, Part 1.12.2 or Part 1.12.3 shall certify as follows:

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all attachments were prepared under my direction or supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the system, or those persons directly responsible for gathering the information, the information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for submitting false information, including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."

1.13 Proprietary or Confidential Information

- 1.13.1 A permit applicant or permittee may assert a claim of confidentiality for proprietary or confidential business information by stamping the words "confidential business information" on each page of a submission containing proprietary or confidential business information. The Department will treat the stamped submissions as confidential if the information satisfies the test in 40 CFR §2.208, adopted by reference at 18 AAC 83.010, and is not otherwise required to be made public by state law.
- 1.13.2 A claim of confidentiality under Appendix A, Part 1.13.1 may not be asserted for the name and address of any permit applicant or permittee, a permit application, a permit, effluent data, sewage sludge data, and information required by APDES or NPDES application forms provided by the Department, whether submitted on the forms themselves or in any attachments used to supply information required by the forms.
- 1.13.3 A permittee's claim of confidentiality authorized under Appendix A, Part 1.13.1 is not waived if the Department provides the proprietary or confidential business information to the EPA or to other agencies participating in the permitting process. The Department will supply any information obtained or used in the administration of the state APDES program to the EPA upon request under 40 CFR §123.41, as revised as of July 1, 2005. When providing information submitted to the Department with a claim of confidentiality to the EPA, the Department will notify the EPA of the confidentiality claim. If the Department provides the EPA information that is not claimed to be confidential, the EPA may make the information available to the public without further notice.

1.14 Oil and Hazardous Substance Liability

Nothing in this permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any action or relieve a permittee

from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be subject to under state laws addressing oil and hazardous substances.

1.15 Cultural and Paleontological Resources

If cultural or paleontological resources are discovered because of this disposal activity, work that would disturb such resources is to be stopped, and the Office of History and Archaeology, a Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation of the Alaska Department of Natural Resources (http://www.dnr.state.ak.us/parks/oha/), is to be notified immediately at (907) 269-8721.

1.16 Fee

A permittee must pay the appropriate permit fee described in 18 AAC 72.

1.17 Other Legal Obligations

This permit does not relieve the permittee from the duty to obtain any other necessary permits from the Department or from other local, state, or federal agencies and to comply with the requirements contained in any such permits. All activities conducted and all plan approvals implemented by the permittee pursuant to the terms of this permit shall comply with all applicable local, state, and federal laws and regulations.

2.0 Special Reporting Obligations

2.1 Planned Changes

- 2.1.1 The permittee shall give notice to the Department as soon as possible of any planned physical alteration or addition to the permitted facility if:
 - 2.1.1.1 The alteration or addition may make the facility a "new source" under one or more of the criteria in 18 AAC 83.990(44); or
 - 2.1.1.2 The alteration or addition could significantly change the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants discharged if those pollutants are not subject to effluent limitations in the permit or to notification requirements under 18 AAC 83.610.
- 2.1.2 If the proposed changes are subject to plan review, then the plans must be submitted at least 30 days before implementation of changes (see 18 AAC 15.020 and 18 AAC 72 for plan review requirements). Written approval is not required for an emergency repair or routine maintenance.
- 2.1.3 Written notice must be sent to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

2.2 Anticipated Noncompliance

- 2.2.1 A permittee shall give seven days' notice to the Department before commencing any planned change in the permitted facility or activity that may result in noncompliance with permit requirements.
- 2.2.2 Written notice must be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2.

2.3 Transfers

- 2.3.1 A permittee may not transfer a permit for a facility or activity to any person except after notice to the Department in accordance with 18 AAC 83.150. The Department may modify or revoke and reissue the permit to change the name of the permittee and incorporate such other requirements under 33 U.S.C. 1251-1387 (Clean Water Act) or state law.
- 2.3.2 Written notice must be sent to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

2.4 Compliance Schedules

- 2.4.1 A permittee must submit progress or compliance reports on interim and final requirements in any compliance schedule of a permit no later than 14 days following the scheduled date of each requirement.
- 2.4.2 Written notice must be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2.

2.5 Corrective Information

- 2.5.1 If a permittee becomes aware that it failed to submit a relevant fact in a permit application or submitted incorrect information in a permit application or in any report to the Department, the permittee shall promptly submit the relevant fact or the correct information.
- 2.5.2 Information must be sent to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

2.6 Bypass of Treatment Facilities

2.6.1 Prohibition of Bypass

Bypass is prohibited. The Department may take enforcement action against a permittee for any bypass, unless:

- 2.6.1.1 The bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, personal injury, or severe property damage;
- 2.6.1.2 There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, including use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal periods of equipment downtime. However, this condition is not satisfied if the permittee, in the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment, should have installed adequate back-up equipment to prevent a bypass that occurred during normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive maintenance; and
- 2.6.1.3 The permittee provides notice to the Department of a bypass event in the manner, as appropriate, under Appendix A, Part 2.6.2.

2.6.2 Notice of bypass

- 2.6.2.1 For an anticipated bypass, the permittee submits notice at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. The Department may approve an anticipated bypass, after considering its adverse effects, if the Department determines that it will meet the conditions of Appendix A, Parts 2.6.1.1 and 2.6.1.2.
- 2.6.2.2 For an unanticipated bypass, the permittee submits 24-hour notice, as required in 18 AAC 83.410(f) and Appendix A, Part 3.4, Twenty-four Hour Reporting.
- 2.6.2.3 Written notice must be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2.
- 2.6.3 Notwithstanding Appendix A, Part 2.6.1, a permittee may allow a bypass that:

- 2.6.3.1 Does not cause an effluent limitation to be exceeded, and
- 2.6.3.2 Is for essential maintenance to assure efficient operation.

2.7 Upset Conditions

- 2.7.1 In any enforcement action for noncompliance with technology-based permit effluent limitations, a permittee may claim upset as an affirmative defense. A permittee seeking to establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof to show that the requirements of Appendix A, Part 2.7.2 are met.
- 2.7.2 To establish the affirmative defense of upset, the permittee must demonstrate, through properly signed, contemporaneous operating logs or other relevant evidence that:
 - 2.7.2.1 An upset occurred and the permittee can identify the cause or causes of the upset;
 - 2.7.2.2 The permitted facility was at the time being properly operated;
 - 2.7.2.3 The permittee submitted 24-hour notice of the upset, as required in 18 AAC 83.410(f) and Appendix A, Part 3.4, Twenty-four Hour Reporting; and
 - 2.7.2.4 The permittee complied with any mitigation measures required under 18 AAC 83.405(e) and Appendix A, Part 1.5, Duty to Mitigate.
- 2.7.3 Any determination made in administrative review of a claim that noncompliance was caused by upset, before an action for noncompliance is commenced, is not final administrative action subject to judicial review.

2.8 Existing Manufacturing, Commercial, Mining, and Silvicultural Discharges

- 2.8.1 In addition to the reporting requirements under 18 AAC 83.410, an existing manufacturing, commercial, mining, and silvicultural discharger shall notify the Department as soon as that discharger knows or has reason to believe that any activity has occurred or will occur that would result in:
 - 2.8.1.1 The discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of any toxic pollutant that is not limited in the permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the following notification levels:
 - 2.8.1.1.1 One hundred micrograms per liter (100 µg/L);
 - 2.8.1.1.2 Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 µg/L) for acrolein and acrylonitrile, 500 micrograms per liter (500 µg/L) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol, and one milligram per liter (1 mg/L) for antimony;
 - 2.8.1.1.3 Five times the maximum concentration value reported for that pollutant in the permit application in accordance with 18 AAC 83.310(c)-(g); or
 - 2.8.1.1.4 The level established by the Department in accordance with 18 AAC 83.445.
 - 2.8.1.2 Any discharge, on a non-routine or infrequent basis, of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in the permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the following notification levels:
 - 2.8.1.2.1 Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 μ g/L);
 - 2.8.1.2.2 One milligram per liter (1 mg/L) for antimony;

- 2.8.1.2.3 Ten times the maximum concentration value reported for that pollutant in the permit application in accordance with 18 AAC 83.310(c)-(g); or
- 2.8.1.2.4 The level established by the Department in accordance with 18 AAC 83.445.

3.0 Monitoring, Recording, and Reporting Requirements

3.1 Representative Sampling

A permittee must collect effluent samples from the effluent stream after the last treatment unit before discharge into the receiving waters. Samples and measurements must be representative of the volume and nature of the monitored activity or discharge.

3.2 Reporting of Monitoring Results

At intervals specified in the permit, monitoring results must be reported on the EPA discharge monitoring report (DMR) form, as revised as of March 1999, adopted by reference.

- 3.2.1 Monitoring results shall be summarized each month on the DMR or an approved equivalent report. The permittee must submit reports monthly postmarked by the 15th day of the following month.
- 3.2.2 The permittee must sign and certify all DMRs and all other reports in accordance with the requirements of Appendix A, Part 1.12, Signatory Requirements and Penalties. All signed and certified legible original DMRs and all other documents and reports must be submitted to the Department at the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2.
- 3.2.3 If, during the period when this permit is effective, the Department makes available electronic reporting, the permittee may, as an alternative to the requirements of Appendix A, Part 3.2.2, submit monthly DMRs electronically by the 15th day of the following month in accordance with guidance provided by the Department. The permittee must certify all DMRs and other reports, in accordance with the requirements of Appendix A, Part 1.12, Signatory Requirements and Penalties. The permittee must retain the legible originals of these documents and make them available to the Department upon request.

3.3 Additional Monitoring by Permittee

If the permittee monitors any pollutant more frequently than the permit requires using test procedures approved in 40 CFR Part 136, adopted by reference at 18 AAC 83.010, or as specified in this permit, the results of that additional monitoring must be included in the calculation and reporting of the data submitted in the DMR required by Appendix A, Part 3.2. All limitations that require averaging of measurements must be calculated using an arithmetic means unless the Department specifies another method in the permit. Upon request by the Department, the permittee must submit the results of any other sampling and monitoring regardless of the test method used.

3.4 Twenty-four Hour Reporting

A permittee shall report any noncompliance event that may endanger health or the environment as follows:

- 3.4.1 A report must be made:
 - 3.4.1.1 Orally within 24 hours after the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances, and
 - 3.4.1.2 In writing within five days after the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances.

- 3.4.2 A report must include the following information:
 - 3.4.2.1 A description of the noncompliance and its causes, including the estimated volume or weight and specific details of the noncompliance;
 - 3.4.2.2 The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times;
 - 3.4.2.3 If the noncompliance has not been corrected, a statement regarding the anticipated time the noncompliance is expected to continue; and
 - 3.4.2.4 Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.
- 3.4.3 An event that must be reported within 24 hours includes:
 - 3.4.3.1 An unanticipated bypass that exceeds any effluent limitation in the permit (see Appendix A, Part 2.6, Bypass of Treatment Facilities).
 - 3.4.3.2 An upset that exceeds any effluent limitation in the permit (see Appendix A, Part 2.7, Upset Conditions).
 - 3.4.3.3 A violation of a maximum daily discharge limitation for any of the pollutants listed in the permit as requiring 24-hour reporting.
 - 3.4.4 The Department may waive the written report on a case-by-case basis for reports under Appendix A, Part 3.4 if the oral report has been received within 24 hours of the permittee becoming aware of the noncompliance event.
 - 3.4.5 The permittee may satisfy the written reporting submission requirements of Appendix A, Part 3.4 by submitting the written report via e-mail, if the following conditions are met:
 - 3.4.5.1 The Noncompliance Notification Form or equivalent form is used to report the noncompliance;
 - 3.4.5.2 The written report includes all the information required under Appendix A, Part 3.4.2;
 - 3.4.5.3 The written report is properly certified and signed in accordance with Appendix A, Parts 1.12.3 and 1.12.5.;
 - 3.4.5.4 The written report is scanned as a PDF (portable document format) document and transmitted to the Department as an attachment to the e-mail; and
 - 3.4.5.5 The permittee retains in the facility file the original signed and certified written report and a printed copy of the conveying email.
- 3.4.6 The e-mail and PDF written report will satisfy the written report submission requirements of this permit provided the e-mail is received by the Department within five days after the time the permittee becomes aware of the noncompliance event and the e-mail and written report satisfy the criteria of Part 3.4.5. The e-mail address to report noncompliance is: dec-wqreporting@alaska.gov

3.5 Other Noncompliance Reporting

A permittee shall report all instances of noncompliance not required to be reported under Appendix A, Parts 2.4 (Compliance Schedules), 3.3 (Additional Monitoring by Permittee), and 3.4 (Twenty-four Hour Reporting) at the time the permittee submits monitoring reports under Appendix A, Part 3.2 (Reporting of Monitoring Results). A report of noncompliance under this part must contain the information listed in Appendix A, Part 3.4.2 and be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2.

4.0 Penalties for Violations of Permit Conditions

Alaska laws allow the State to pursue both civil and criminal actions concurrently. The following is a summary of Alaska law. Permittees should read the applicable statutes for further substantive and procedural details.

4.1 Civil Action

Under AS 46.03.760(e), a person who violates or causes or permits to be violated a regulation, a lawful order of the Department, or a permit, approval, or acceptance, or term or condition of a permit, approval or acceptance issued under the program authorized by AS 46.03.020 (12) is liable, in a civil action, to the State for a sum to be assessed by the court of not less than \$500 nor more than \$100,000 for the initial violation, nor more than \$10,000 for each day after that on which the violation continues, and that shall reflect, when applicable:

- 4.1.1 Reasonable compensation in the nature of liquated damages for any adverse environmental effects caused by the violation, that shall be determined by the court according to the toxicity, degradability, and dispersal characteristics of the substance discharged, the sensitivity of the receiving environment, and the degree to which the discharge degrades existing environmental quality;
- 4.1.2 Reasonable costs incurred by the State in detection, investigation, and attempted correction of the violation;
- 4.1.3 The economic savings realized by the person in not complying with the requirements for which a violation is charged; and
- 4.1.4 The need for an enhanced civil penalty to deter future noncompliance.

4.2 Injunctive Relief

- 4.2.1 Under AS 46.03.820, the Department can order an activity presenting an imminent or present danger to public health or that would be likely to result in irreversible damage to the environment be discontinued. Upon receipt of such an order, the activity must be immediately discontinued.
- 4.2.2 Under AS 46.03.765, the Department can bring an action in Alaska Superior Court seeking to enjoin ongoing or threatened violations for Department-issued permits and Department statutes and regulations.

4.3 Criminal Action

Under AS 46.03.790(h), a person is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor if the person negligently:

- 4.3.1 Violates a regulation adopted by the Department under AS 46.03.020(12);
- 4.3.2 Violates a permit issued under the program authorized by AS 46.03.020(12);
- 4.3.3 Fails to provide information or provides false information required by a regulation adopted under AS 46.03.020(12);
- 4.3.4 Makes a false statement, representation, or certification in an application, notice, record, report, permit, or other document filed, maintained, or used for purposes of compliance with a permit issued under or a regulation adopted under AS 46.03.020(12); or
- 4.3.5 Renders inaccurate a monitoring device or method required to be maintained by a permit issued or under a regulation adopted under AS 46.03.020(12).

4.4 Other Fines

Upon conviction of a violation of a regulation adopted under AS 46.03.020(12), a defendant who is not an organization may be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than \$10,000 for each separate violation (AS 46.03.790(g)). A defendant that is an organization may be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding the greater of: (1) \$200,00; (2) three times the pecuniary gain realized by the defendant as a result of the offense; or (3) three times the pecuniary damage or loss caused by the defendant to another, or the property of another, as a result of the offense (AS 12.55.035(c)(B), (c)(2), and (c)(3)).

Appendix B

Acronyms

APPENDIX B

The following acronyms are common terms that may be found in an Alaska Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (APDES) permit.

18 AAC 15 Alaska Administrative Code. Title 18 Environmental Conservation, Chapter 15:

Administrative Procedures

18 AAC 70 Alaska Administrative Code. Title 18 Environmental Conservation, Chapter 70:

Water Quality Standards

18 AAC 72 Alaska Administrative Code. Title 18 Environmental Conservation, Chapter 72:

Wastewater Disposal

18 AAC 83 Alaska Administrative Code. Title 18 Environmental Conservation, Chapter 83:

Alaska Pollutant Discharge Elimination System

All chapters of Alaska Administrative Code, Title 18 are available at the Alaska Administrative Code database http://www.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac

40 CFR Code of Federal Regulations Title 40: Protection of Environment

AAC Alaska Administrative Code

ADEC Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation

APDES Alaska Pollutant Discharge Elimination System

AS Alaska Statutes

AS 46.03 Alaska Statutes Title 46, Chapter 03: Environmental Conservation. Available at

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/default.htm

BAT Best Available Technology Economically Achievable

BCT Best Conventional Pollutant Control Technology

BMP Best Management Practice

BPJ Best Professional Judgement

BPP Beluga Power Plant

BPT Best Practicable Control Technology Currently Available

°C Degrees Celsius

COD Chemical Oxygen Demand

CWA Clean Water Act

DEC Department of Environmental Conservation

DMR Discharge Monitoring Report

EFH Essential Fish Habitat

ELG Effluent Limit Guideline

EPA U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

GPD or gpd Gallons Per Day
Lbs/day Pounds Per Day

MDL Method Detection Limit

APPENDIX B

mg/L Milligrams per Liter

MGD or mgd Million gallons per day

mL Milliliters

ML Minimum Level

MLLW Mean Lower Low Water

N/A Not Applicable

ND Non-Detect

NMFS National Marine Fisheries Service

NOAA National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration
NPDES National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System

NSPS New Source Performance Standards

NTCW North Tongass Car Wash

OWS Oil Water Separator

POTW Publicly Owned Treatment Works

PQL Practical Quantification Limit

PVC Polyvinyl Chloride
QA Quality Assurance

QA/QC Quality Assurance/Quality Control

QAPP Quality Assurance Project Plan

QC Quality Control
RL Reporting Limit
SU Standard Units

TAqH Total Aqueous Hydrocarbons
TAH Total Aromatic Hydrocarbons

TBELs Technology Based Effluent Limits

TSS Total Suspended Solids $\mu g/L$ Micrograms per Liter U.S.C. United States Code

USFWS United States Fish and Wildlife Service

WET Whole Effluent Toxicity

WQBELs Water Quality Based Effluent Limits

WQS Water Quality Standards

Appendix C

Definitions

The following are common definitions of terms associated with APDES permits. Not all the terms listed may appear in a permit. Consult the footnote references for a complete list of terms and definitions.

Administrator^a Means the Administrator of the EPA or an authorized representative.

Alaska Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (APDES)^a Means the state's program, approved by EPA under 33 U.S.C. 1342(b), for issuing, modifying, revoking and reissuing, terminating, monitoring and enforcing permits and imposing and enforcing pretreatment requirements under 33 U.S.C. 1317, 1328, 1342,

and 1345.

Annual Means once per calendar year.

Average Means an arithmetic mean obtained by adding quantities and dividing the sum by the

number of quantities.

Average Monthly Discharge Limitation^a

Means the highest allowable average of "daily discharges" over a calendar month calculated as the sum of all "daily discharges" measured during a calendar month

divided by the number of "daily discharges" measured for that month.

Best Management Practices (BMPs)^a Means schedules of activities, prohibitions of practices, maintenance procedures, and other management practices to prevent or reduce the pollution of waters of the United States. BMPs also include treatment requirements, operating procedures, and practices to control plant site runoff, spillage or leaks, sludge or waste disposal, or drainage from

raw material storage areas.

Bypass^a Means the intentional diversion of waste streams from any portion of a treatment

facility.

Clean Water Act

(CWA)^a

Means the federal law codified at 33 U.S.C. 1251-1387, also referred to as the Federal Water Pollution Control Act or Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of

1972.

Commissioner^a Means the commissioner of the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation or

the commissioner's designee.

Criterion^b Means a set concentration or limit of a water quality parameter that, when not

exceeded, will protect an organism, a population of organisms, a community of organisms, or a prescribed water use with a reasonable degree of safety. A criterion

might be a narrative statement instead of a numerical concentration or limit.

Daily Discharge^a Means the discharge of a pollutant measured during a calendar day or any 24-hour

period that reasonably represents the calendar day for the purposes of sampling. For pollutants measured in units of mass, the "daily discharge" is calculated as the total mass of the pollutant discharged over the day. For pollutants with a limitation expressed in other units of measurement, the "daily discharge" is calculated as the

average measurement of the pollutant over the day.

Department^a Means the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation.

Design Flow^a Means the wastewater flow rate that the plant was designed to handle.

a) See 18 AAC 83

b) See 18 AAC 70.990

c) See 18 AAC 72.990

d) See EPA Technical Support Document

e) See EPA Permit Writers Manual

f) See 40 CFR Part 423.11

Director^a Means the commissioner or the commissioner's designee assigned to administer the

APDES program or a portion of it, unless the context identifies an EPA director.

When used without qualification, discharge means the discharge of a pollutant. Discharge^a

Discharge of a

Means any addition of any pollutant or combination of pollutants to waters of the Pollutant^a United States from any point source or to waters of the contiguous zone or the ocean

from any point source other than a vessel or other floating craft that is being used as a means of transportation. Discharge includes any addition of pollutants into waters of the United States from surface runoff that is collected or channeled by humans; discharges through pipes, sewers, or other conveyances owned by a state, municipality,

or other person that do not lead to a treatment works; discharges through pipes, sewers, or other conveyances leading into privately owned treatment works; and does not

include an addition of pollutants by any indirect discharger.

Effluent^b Means the segment of a wastewater stream that follows the final step in a treatment

process and precedes discharge of the wastewater stream to the receiving environment

Estimated Means a way to estimate the discharge volume. Approvable estimations include, but

are not limited to, the number of persons per day at the facility, volume of potable

water produced per day, lift station run time, etc.

Means a single instantaneous sample collected at a particular place and time that **Grab Sample**

represents the composition of wastewater only at that time and place.

Influent Means untreated wastewater before it enters the first treatment process of a wastewater

treatment works.

Maximum Daily

Discharge Limitation^a

Means the highest allowable "daily discharge."

Meanb Means the average of values obtained over a specified period and, for fecal coliform

analysis, is computed as a geometric mean.

Measured Means the actual volume of wastewater discharged using appropriate mechanical or

electronic equipment to provide a totalized reading. Measure does not provide a

recorded measurement of instantaneous rates.

(MDL)e

Method Detection Limit Means the minimum concentration of a substance (analyte) that can be measured and reported with 99 percent confidence that the analyte concentration is greater than zero and is determined from analysis of a sample in a given matrix containing the analyte

Micrograms per Liter

 $(\mu g/L)^b$

Means the concentration at which one millionth of a gram (10⁻⁶ g) is found in a volume

of one liter.

Milligrams per Liter

 $(mg/L)^b$

Means the concentration at which one thousandth of a gram (10⁻³ g) is found in a volume of one liter. It is approximately equal to the unit "parts per million (ppm),"

formerly of common use.

a) See 18 AAC 83

b) See 18 AAC 70.990

c) See 18 AAC 72.990

d) See EPA Technical Support Document

e) See EPA Permit Writers Manual

f) See 40 CFR Part 423.11

Minimum Level (ML)^d Means the concentration at which the entire analytical system must give a recognizable

signal and an acceptable calibration point. The ML is the concentration in a sample that is equivalent to the concentration of the lowest calibration standard analyzed by a specific analytical procedure, assuming that all the method-specified sample weights,

volumes, and processing steps have been followed. This level is used as the

compliance level if the effluent limit is below it.

Month Means the time period from the 1st of a calendar month to the last day in the month.

Monthly Average Means the average of daily discharges over a monitoring month calculated as the sum

of all daily discharges measured during a monitoring month divided by the number of

daily discharges measured during that month.

Permittee Means a company, organization, association, entity, or person who is issued a

wastewater permit and is responsible for ensuring compliance, monitoring, and

reporting as required by the permit.

pH^g Means a measure of the hydrogen ion concentration of water or wastewater; expressed

as the negative log of the hydrogen ion concentration in mg/L. A pH of 7 is neutral. A

pH less than 7 is acidic, and a pH greater than 7 is basic.

Principal Executive

Officer^a

Means the chief executive officer of the agency or a senior executive officer having responsibility for the overall operations of a principal geographic unit of division of the

agency.

Pollutant^a Means dredged spoil, solid waste, incinerator residue, filter backwash, sewage,

garbage, sewage sludge, munitions, chemical wastes, biological materials, radioactive materials (except those regulated under 42 U.S.C. 2011), heat, wrecked or discarded equipment, rock, sand, cellar dirt, and industrial, municipal, or agricultural waste

discharged into water.

Quality Assurance

Project Plan (QAPP)

Means a system of procedures, checks, audits, and corrective actions to ensure that all research design and performance, environmental monitoring and sampling, and other

technical and reporting activities are of the highest achievable quality.

Quarter Means the time period of three months based on the calendar year beginning with

January.

Receiving Water Body Means lakes, bays, sounds, ponds, impounding reservoirs, springs, wells, rivers,

streams, creeks, estuaries, marshes, inlets, straits, passages, canals, the Pacific Ocean, Gulf of Alaska, Bering Sea, and Arctic Ocean, in the territorial limits of the state, and all other bodies of surface water, natural or artificial, public or private, inland or coastal, fresh or salt, which are wholly or partially in or bordering the state or under the

jurisdiction of the state. (See "Waters of the U.S." at 18 AAC 83.990(77)).

Recorded Means a permanent record using mechanical or electronic equipment to provide a

totalized reading, as well as a record of instantaneous readings.

Report results of analysis.

Responsible Corporate Means a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in charge

of a principal business function or any other person who performs similar policy or

a) See 18 AAC 83

b) See 18 AAC 70.990

c) See 18 AAC 72.990

d) See EPA Technical Support Document

e) See EPA Permit Writers Manual

f) See 40 CFR Part 423.11

Officer^a decision making functions for the corporation. The Responsible Corporate Officer can

also be the manager of one or more manufacturing, production, or operating facilities if

the requirements of

18 AAC 83.385(a)(1)(B)(i)-(iii) are met.

Residues^b Means floating solids, debris, sludge, deposits, foam, scum, or any other material or

substance remaining in a waterbody as a result of direct or nearby human activity.

Settleable Solids^b Means solid material of organic or mineral origin that is transported by and deposited

> from water, as measured by the volumetric Imhoff cone method and at the method detection limits specified in method 2540(F), Standard Methods for the Examination of

Water and Wastewater, 18th edition (1992), adopted by reference in 18 AAC

70.020(c)(1)

Severe Property Means substantial physical damage to property, damage to the treatment facilities

which causes them to become inoperable, or substantial and permanent loss of natural resources which can reasonably be expected to occur in the absence of a bypass.

Severe property damage does not mean economic loss caused by delays in production.

Sheenb Means an iridescent appearance on the water surface.

Shellfish^b Means a species of crustacean, mollusk, or other aquatic invertebrate with a shell or

shell-like exoskeleton in any stage of its life cycle.

Suspended Solids Means insoluble solids that either float on the surface of, or are in suspension in, water,

> wastewater, or other liquids. The quantity of material removed from wastewater in a laboratory test, as prescribed in Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and

Wastewater and referred to as nonfilterable.

Total Aqueous

Damage^a

Means those collective dissolved and water-accommodated monoaromatic and polynuclear Hydrocarbons^b (TAqH) aromatic petroleum hydrocarbons that are persistent in the water column; "total aqueous

hydrocarbons" does not include floating surface oil or grease.

Total Aromatic Means the sum of the following volatile monoaromatic hydrocarbon compounds: benzene,

Hydrocarbons^b (TAH) ethylbenzene, toluene, and the xylene isomers, commonly called BETX.

Total Suspended Solids

 $(TSS)^{e}$

Means a measure of the filterable solids present in a sample, as determined by the

method specified in 40 CFR Part 136.

Twice per year Means two time periods during the calendar year.

Upset^a Means an exceptional incident in which there is unintentional and temporary

> noncompliance with technology-based effluent limitations because of factors beyond the reasonable control of the permittee. An upset does not include noncompliance to the extent caused by operational error, improperly designed treatment facilities,

inadequate treatment facilities, lack of preventive maintenance, or careless or improper

operation.

Wastewater Treatment Means any process to which wastewater is subjected in order to remove or alter its

objectionable constituents and make it suitable for subsequent use or acceptable for

discharge to the environment.

a) See 18 AAC 83

b) See 18 AAC 70.990

c) See 18 AAC 72.990

d) See EPA Technical Support Document

e) See EPA Permit Writers Manual

f) See 40 CFR Part 423.11

Waters of the United States or Waters of the

Has the meaning given in 18 AAC 83.990(77).

U.S.

Water Recreation^b

See contact recreation or secondary recreation

Water Supply^b

Means any of the waters of the United States that are designated in 18 AAC 70 to be protected for fresh water or marine water uses. Water supply includes waters used for drinking, culinary, food processing, agricultural, aquacultural, seafood processing, and industrial purposes. Water supply does not necessarily mean that water in a waterbody that is protected as a supply for the uses listed in this paragraph is safe to drink in its

natural state.

Week

Means the time period of Sunday through Saturday.

a) See 18 AAC 83

b) See 18 AAC 70.990

c) See 18 AAC 72.990

d) See EPA Technical Support Document

e) See EPA Permit Writers Manual

f) See 40 CFR Part 423.11